We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average vibe.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Carlton

Save Saved
You added Vibe Hotel Carlton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   441 Royal Parade | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia (Parkville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A very average vibe.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed one night at the Vibe which was great for proximity to a meeting venue. Was a comfortable, refurbished room in a very old building. The refurb is fine but nothing special, like the hotel generally. Road noise was bad, but bearable and my colleagues staying at the back of the hotel said it was very audible where they were as well. The advantage of tolerating the road noise is that you're on on a transit route, and trams and trains are close and frequent.
The name of the hotel is confusing for taxi drivers as the hotel is not in Carlton at all, but Parkville.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Hutchinson h, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Trevar,

The team and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Carlton. We thank you for the valuable feedback. Our hotel is in fact not in Carlton it is on the cusp of Parkville and Carlton hence the naming Vibe Carlton. With traffic noise this is a slight issue during the busy periods in the morning and early evening. We do have rooms at the rear of the hotel that limit this noise and often take requests from our regular guests to stay in a rear facing room.

We again thank you for reviewing and do hope to welcome you back to one of our Toga hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    128
    66
    33
    19
See reviews for
52
75
40
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Just like to say that my recent stay at the Vibe Hotel Carlton was terrific. Location was great - handy to public transport as I did not hire a car for this visit. Staff were extremely helpful from arrival to departure. As this was our first visit to Melbourne with the kids to visit family -staff were very helpful with recomendations on great places to take the kids. And I must say the pool area gets a 10 out of 10 from the kids. The Reastaurant was great - reasonably priced for a family to all dine. Overall a reasonably priced hotel with great facilities within easy reach of the city. We will certainly be back and will recomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Hutchinson h, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Nicole M,

The team and myself at Vibe Hotel Carlton would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for the positive feedback. It is always pleasing to know that the team are upholding our values of great guest service and going above and beyond to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay.

Again thank you and we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Carlton in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is in a great location with easy tram access into the City. The front desk staff were very helpful and it has a relaxing pool area. However, the rooms are poorly serviced - the bin was not emptied for two days and the cups were not washed. the room was, however, quite spacious. The food in the restaurant - both breakfast and dinner - was poor quality and uninspiring. Overall I feel it was value for money as the rate is quite reasonable. The Internet rates were extortionate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Hutchinson h, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Judespackman,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that the service and value of the hotel met your needs. With regards to the hotel servicing I have raised these issues with our housekeeping department to ensure that we can improve on our normal high standards. Our restaurant has under gone a menu change and we hope that the new menu is more to our guests tastes. Again thank you for the valuable comments as it is this feedback from our valued guests that not only help us to improve but also ensure that we are providing our guests with quality product.

Kind regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My Wife & I stayed here because it was convenient to our Family. Also, very close to transport. Very nice, reasonably priced, quite spacious room. However, the bed was not comfortable, with a very thin mattress.

Unfortunately, the service was very disappointing. Started with unwelcoming reception on check-in.

Our bathroom did not have any soap so went to reception and they offered 1 small piece. They reluctantly gave me a second one. One day we went out and told reception that we did not need the room to be made up, but could they provide more tea sachets and more milk. They made a note, but not surprisingly nothing was put in the room. No apology when I queried this.

The restaurant was average. We had a fair lunch there and breakfast 2 mornings. Again, the service was orindinary at best. At lunch we initially couldn't even find any staff there. The waitress could barely speak English which meant she had trouble even understanding our order, With the wine she did not have a clue. For breakfast, one morning (not even late) one of the three very plain cereals had just run out. They said they didn't have any more so just took away the container. Same morning the milk, bread and juice ran out so again we had to ask for more. Obviously no-one was checking as items were finished.

The only issue with the room was that the main entrance door on each apartment slammed loudly when closed. This was very disruptive during the night.

Again, no warmth at reception on check-out. Didn't make you feel as though you be welcome to return. Pity about the poor service, because the accommodation is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Hutchinson h, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear KevoSydneyAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do strive to ensure that all of our guests feel welcomed and receive a warm welcome. It is unfortunate that on this occasion you felt that the service was lacking that warmth. This is not the general high standards that we strive for at Vibe Carlton. I have passed the feedback onto our front desk team and the restaurant team. We do thank you for the feedback as this is the way we learn from what we are doing right and what we are missing from our guests perspective and our guests are the most important part of our business. We do hope to welcome you back to Vibe Carlton in the future.

Kind regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The staff at Vibe carlton are one tight team of eclectic individuals all striving to make a a stay here a relaxing and totally satisfying experience. The hotel is in a great position with easy tram access to the city, the pool and gym are just great but it is the staff that really made my 4 nights a treat. It was not my first time staying at the Vibe - it has always been great value for such contemporary accommodation but it seems to have even gotten better in this last year.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing onto the pool. They are quiet and get the lovely evening sun. Third floor even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AOCE, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Susan E,

The team and myself at Vibe Hotel Carlton would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for the positive feedback. It is always pleasing to know that the team are upholding our values of great guest service and going above and beyond to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay.

Again thank you and we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Carlton in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Vibe is a fine place to stay if you don't need the internet during your trip or have any issues requiring assistance from the front desk. Not good for business trips. Good value for money, rooms are clean and decently sized and reasonably priced. They're going for a hipster/young yuppie type vibe, music videos in the lobby, etc. It's fine. The big issue was the net--22 dollars a night for extremely slow service that required frequent visits from their servicemen just to connect. Had to plug in ethernet cord, unplug, switch to wireless, back to cord, long and short is just to connect took about 20 minutes a nite and then the service was dial-up speed. The last straw came when I wanted a code for my ipad to get on because my laptop wasn't working, and they wanted to charge me an additional 22 bucks! The desk was aloof and uncooperative with dealing with the issue. Tried to follow up by emailing management about it, but they never bothered to reply. Pretty bad. Again, the hotel is fine, rooms are clean, fine place to stay if you just need a room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AOCE, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Jackson830,

The team and myself at Vibe Hotel Carlton would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for the feedback regarding the internet service provided. This feedback is valuable in ensuring that we can offer the best possible solutions for our guests needs. I was sorry to hear that the internet service was not to standard and I have forwarded your comments onto our service provider along with suggestions for improvement in the service and lack of response from this service provider.

Again thank you and we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Carlton in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

A well-situated place -- although despite its name, it's in Parkville not Carlton -- recently refurbished in the Vibe style. Spacious rooms (I stayed in two different ones in two visits over a week), bright colours, v nice pool and gym. Tram into CBD outside the door -- trip about 15 mins. Lovely parks in the immediate vicinity (hence Parkville) which is close to U of Melbourne and one campus of Monash Uni. Young, mostly friendly and efficient staff. Gripes -- the $10 per day parking fee (which wasn't charged in its preVibe days I'm pretty sure; after all, it's basically a motel not hotel) and the $22 per day internet charge. Not even free wireless in the lobby. On the whole though, it's v good value for its quite reasonable prices. (Oh yes -- there are v few cafes or restaurants in the immediate vicinity. So if you don't want to eat at the hotel -- and the restaurant is overpriced for the quality -- it's a hike or drive Carlton )

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor rooms immediately adjacent to the pool. Noisy and in those without balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AOCE, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
The team at Vibe Hotel Carlton are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We will definitely look at the comments in regards to our Wi-Fi service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Toga Hotels in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vibe Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Carlton

Address: 441 Royal Parade | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Parkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Carlton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vibe Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.