We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, comfortable, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Inn On The Mall

Save Saved
You added Causeway Inn On The Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Levin, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Central, comfortable, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here four nights on our shopping trip. So central it is great. Trams right out your front door. Rooms basic, but clean and tidy. Bed nice and comfy, pillows a bit soft for my liking but that's personal taste. Love the breakfast, basic but filling and the fruit (melon was lovely). Although we left our rooms every day with beds made and things away the cleaners(god bless them) did their little bit and it was nice to come back to. Felt safe with the double lift thing and the card only access. Would we stay again, yes yes yes

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    130
    72
    21
    8
See reviews for
35
114
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Location might look a bit seedy, but it was so central, walk to anywhere, very quiet, really felt we were in the heart of Melbourne. Breakfast very basic, but room was clean and quiet, and it had a great shower. Staff were helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in Melbourne just for one night to see Miranda Hart (if you haven't heard of her, YouTube her at once she is hilarious!). The hotel was clean, bed was comfy. Amazing location. Continental bfast did the job. It did the job but don't expect luxury!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was in Melbourne on a shopping trip and just needed somewhere very central & not too expensive, for one night. Causeway Inn with its fantastic location right on Bourke Street Mall was perfect. Being a 3 star hotel it is clearly not going to be the Ritz, the rooms are small and quite basic, however the bed was comfortable, with good quality linen, the shower was great and it was clean & tidy. On check in I was told that my rate included a breakfast and that was your standard continental buffet breakfast, not bad though with a great fresh fruit platters. They have 2 computers for guest use on the level 2 lounge area, with a printer. I paid $2 for 30 minutes on the internet which I thought was pretty reasonable. The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Since it is mid city & probably quite noisy outside at night I requested a high floor and was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

THE GOOD= Check-in was very nice,friendly and welcoming. The rooms are small for two people but perfect for one person.bathroom is small but perfect,this hotel has the best water pressure I've ever had in a hotel. Rooms are clean,very nice bed,TV and bar fridge worked well.location 10/10.

THE BAD= I'm sorry to report this but the noise that comes from doors to other rooms is BAD! It will wake you from your sleep as it did me.SLAM!(loud slam not soft) Is what you will hear all night if are on a floor with people that go in and out all night. I was woken at 1am,2:30am then at 5am. I love this hotel but I will not stay here again because of that slamming door noise.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Firstly i have to say the staff we encountered were lovely.

At check-in we were told we had been upgraded so that was nice. We get to our room and lucky we only had back packs and small ones at that because anything bigger would not have fitted in the room.

Remember we had been upgraded so how small was the original room we booked.

The bathroom was so tiny and old and worn, windows that overlooked the mall but so dirty you could not see through them. The temperature in Melbourne was extreme and the room was so stuffy, look elsewhere and find something nicer,

Breakfast was continental and coffee was a press button machine ordinary to say the least.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a twin room with my daughter. Room was clean and although a little small was adequate. Comfy beds, crisp clean bed linen and additional pillows if you need them. Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, cereals and bread with juice and coffee available from early to mid morning. Excellent location with a fab choice of nearby cafes and bars. Helpful and friendly staff manned the 24hr reception desk. Would have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre.Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes.Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets.Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Inn On The Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.