We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Inn On The Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway Inn On The Mall to your Saves list
Causeway Inn On The Mall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here with my mother in July 2013 and while the amenities are clean and tidy, I have a few annoyances with this accommodation. The beds were so old you sunk into the middle of them like the thousands who had slept in them before you. We were on the second floor, and to get to our room we needed to go up one floor to get to the lounge/kitchen/dining area, then walk across the length of the hotel and then get into another elevator. That was annoying, especially during breakfast as you'd have all the people who were checking out walking through the dining area, which made it loud and busy. The aircon didn't work too well in our room and we had a lot of trouble with our keycards, resulting in numerous trips down to reception so we could get into our room. Frustrating. Service was good though but I think the desciption of the hotel was a bit misleading (we booked through FlightCentre). The continental breakfast provided was adequate. It wasn't terrible but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    156
    78
    22
    8
See reviews for
43
133
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked very early in 2014 a twin room for me & my son, This was on a budget, so chose price / location really. Not dissapointed at all, served a purpose, rooms small and very basic, TV / Fridge / Shower...No Views of the City at all, but all we wanted was a base - ideal for a couple of blokes going to the MCG every day and the Pub every night. Staff were great - even when locked out of room in the middle of the night - another story though !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very small room but has hairdryer and iron and fridge in room. Great location for center of Melbourne. We could walk everywhere or catch tram very easily. Breakfast is basic there are nice cafes nearby where you could go instead.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a last minute booking and we needed a one night room central to Melbourne CBD. The staff were lovely and when we arrived early, the room was not ready so we went out for coffee. The management rang us only 20 minutes later to say the room was ready. We stayed midweek and it was reasonably quiet at night considering it was off of Bourke Street Mall. The room was very tiny and the bathroom quiet old with dirty silocin at the bottom of the tiles. I found the pillows uncomfortable but this was a personal opinion. Would not pay any more than the special internet price we paid but at least it included continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is the second time i've stayed here. This is great value if you book in advance. The location cannot be beaten. Currently they're switching to digital signals with their tvs and the problem is lack of tv channels. The towel railing in my room was also hanging off the wall, and the hot water tap was very loud and clunky, and didn't work in the sink. One thing i did love was the fact there was an opening window to let a breeze in. My booking included breakfast but there is no full breakfast, only toast, cereal and fruit, so it's lucky this hotel is near other great cafes and eateries in causeway lane and little collins street. The lifts are also a pain - you need to catch two to get to the floors with rooms, and there's only one available lift on he ground floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My first trip to Melbourne was awesome and the accommodation was just cherry on top of the cake. The price is affordable, the location is centrally located, the room was nice, the free breakfast they included in the price of the room was also gr8. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a budgeted and pleasant stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

just spent 4 nights Nov 28-Dec 1 2013 at Causeway Inn On The Mall and it was a great hotel. Fantastic location with lots of shops and restaurants in the vicinity. Staff was friendly and helpful and although the room was small, is was nicely appointed and serviced every day. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre.Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes.Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets.Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Inn On The Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.