We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location - right on Bourke St Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Inn On The Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway Inn On The Mall to your Saves list
Causeway Inn On The Mall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, location - right on Bourke St Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent location on Bourke St Mall for a Mothers Day shopping weekend. We stayed in high level twin room. They were small in size and bathroom tiles could do with updating but they were clean. Bathroom pipes from nextdoor rooms can be heard but acceptable considering the location and price of the hotel stay. Basic continental breakfast included. Street is quiet at night so no street noise can be heard from the rooms
Since cars have no access to Bourke St, you need to wheel your luggage through Bourke St Mall for pick up/drop off on Elizabeth St (closest cross street)

Preferred to stay at their sister hotel Causeway Hotel on little Collin st (just a short stroll from this hotel)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    147
    75
    21
    8
See reviews for
38
128
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Causeway Inn On The Mall many times. The rooms are nothing flash, and a little on the small side. But they are clean, and appointed well enough. The price, cosidering it's right in the middle of the CBD, is pretty good. The breakfast is a little lacking but there are several cafe's right outside if you require more than a continental breakfast.

On this latest stay I found the water temp in the shower varied widely from freezing cold to scalding hot at random times.

Again, the big draw here is it's location. There are several tram lines, train stations and attractions easily within walking distance. I'll be back when I am next in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. Our mistake was pre paying for the apartment. When we entered the property we found the bathroom was disgusting. The shower base was filthy and the rest of the bathroom tiles weren't much cleaner. We asked if we could have the bathroom cleaned again before we unpacked, however we were " advised" that the shower wasn't filthy it was grout from the new tiles that had been layed. Conceding defeat my wife and I went and brought sandles so we could stand in the bathroom.

Also my wife and I received a call from reception at 6.30am telling us that an alarm had gone off in our room and they were on their way up to check it out. When we answered our door we were acused of smoking. I understand that they have to check the alarm but my partner an i don't and never have smoked. We also had to ask for more soap and toilet paper to be replenished daily.

This is meant to be a three star hotel however in my opinion would be flat out cracking the 1/2 star mark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better location right in the middle of town. My room was a decent size with twin beds and a couch. I liked the touch of an iron and ironing board as well as the complimentary toiletries. I found a box of tissues and the hair dryer in a drawer. The TV screen was on the small size but was adequate. The room was clean as well as the linen and the beds were comfy. The room was on the side of the building so no view but it was very quiet. There is two lifts but this isn't a problem. On the down side the breakfast is very poor for $12.50 and with cafes literally on the door step, you're better off eating there than in the hotel. The whole place is a bit tired and the fittings in the bathroom were coming out of the walls. The hall way outside the room smelt strangely of mutton or cabbage but the actual room smelt fine. On checkout, the staff attempted to charge me for 3 breakfasts even though I was by myself. When I pointed this out they said it was for the previous day. As I had only stayed there for one night this was not a possibility and they had to concede. Would recommend this hotel mainly for the location.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms could be noisy. Eat breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is our 4th stay in Causeway Inn on the Mall. It is really good value, as it is literally 10 steps from Burke St Mall. The room was small but with a little creative unpacking, quite adequate. The bed was very coimfortable and the linen good quality. (The pillows are nearing the end of their lives) The bathroom (shower) has recently been renovated and everything was in nice condition and very clean.

We had a view of a derelict building, but previously we have booked a Mall room which had a view into the Burke St Mall which we found a bit noisy with tram bells and buskers, so the side room suited us well - very quiet.

The staff are efficient and helpful.

The breakfast, while not lavish, is adequate and nicely presented.

Altogether, this is a great choice in the middle of Melbourne.

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter but Burke st rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 8 nights at this Inn & found the staff very helpfull with bookings planning day trips etc the rooms were very clean & the beds were very comfortable , breakfast was very healthy catering to all tastes, offering a great start to busy days.
Room service was good daily .
I would recommend this Inn to anyone wanting affordable accomodation in the heart of Melbourne where you step out to brilliant small cafes & Malls everwhere..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A hotel in a GREAT location, trams stop directly out the front. The beds were comfortable. The only things missing were small creature comforts like a box of tissues and heater lighting in the bathroom (we all know how cold Melbourne gets).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre.Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes.Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets.Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Inn On The Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.