We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Inn On The Mall

Save Saved
You added Causeway Inn On The Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Causeway Inn On The Mall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, VERY central, friendly, cheap accommodation, then this is the place to go. If you want a large luxurious room then it isn't. However, this was exactly what we wanted, so we were pleased. The hotel is situated in an alley opposite Myers, and in the day the alley is full of little restaurants - these close at about 4.30. The breakfast is basic, (continental), but is fresh, and just what is needed to give you energy for the busy day. Beds are comfy, bathroom clean. Had a bit of a hostel feel, as you need to go up one lift, walk past the dining area and go to another lift to go up to the rooms. (I presume the more expensive sister hotel next door uses the first lift access for their rooms).

So ... if you book knowing what you are going to get... you will be very happy with this little hotel, as we were.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    115
    65
    17
    6
See reviews for
29
100
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I arrived and handed my debit card for payment. I told the guy it was a debit but he tried credit. Card was declined. I then had to ring my bank to find out he had pressed the wrong option. I then went to my room which smelled strongly of sewage. 4 lift trips later, I was moved to a different room.
The location is great, the staff good, the lift situation terrible and the continental breakfast extortionate. You can get a cooked brekkie at the cafe out the front for less than the hotel's price.
The bed was comfy but the air con noisey. The whole place needs a redesign. I've stayed in nicer hostels. 3 star it isn't. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a good central location in Melbourne. The staff whilst friendly were not overly helpful, except for Alesandro. The rooms were very small and almost zero storage room. Not good if you were on a long trip like us. The lift situation was a disaster. You need to take two lifts to get to your room with a longish walk between and the first lift was nearly always out of service. Still I guess you get what you pay for, but I question it's 3 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway-Melbourne, General Manager at Causeway Inn On The Mall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Good morning Diesel1952,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that Alessandro provided the guest service needed, though disappointed other staff didnt. we have re-emphasised the need to all staff to provide quality and warm service to all our guests. The problems with the main elevator has been rectified.
Regards
Paul Koenig - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, no need for a car or taxi at this hotel. The rooms are not luxurious, however they are clean and tidy. It is a basic hotel in a great location, we found the beds to be comfortable and after a day out on our feet, it was nice to have a good bed to rest on. Breakfast was very basic, however more than enough toast, cereal, juice, yoghurt and fruit. If you want comfort and a nice place to lazy around, this is not for you, however, if you want a clean, cheap, great location hotel to rest your head at night, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The room was tiny, but it was clean and tidy and we had enough room for all our luggage. The only thing we weren't happy with was the thin pillows. We didn't have the breakfast - it really doesn't seem necessary when you're in walking distance to so many great cafes. Staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an old hotel but clean and all I need is a place to sleep. A Continental breakfast is included so makes it even better value.The entrance is off a lane opposite the GPO so is easy to get back to the hotel.The free tram (Stop 5) is close to the entrance.There are two lifts,one to the second floor and another to your sleeping floor

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A friend and I had a great 4 night stay here with no complaints at all. The location is perfect in a quiet lane way that is full of cafes that only serve lunch and b/fast so it is very quiet at night. Just outside the lane is Myers and a tram stop that will take you anywhere you want to go. The rooms are small but very clean, we were hardly there anyway, there is so much to do in Melbourne. The staff were lovely and provided excellent service especially Tammy and Herman. Our flight left later in the day and they offered to keep our bags safe till then. I will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall
Address: 327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre.Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes.Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets.Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Inn On The Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.