We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Inn On The Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Causeway Inn On The Mall to your Saves list
Causeway Inn On The Mall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty average overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in July 2012, have to say I found the location good and staff were friendly and helpful. Was an affordable place to stay however, I felt that the hotel needs to improve it's cleanliness and appearance. There was a blood stain in the bathroom in our room, really yucky!
Also saw a used dirty plate outside the lift on our level that was there for two days!! Not a bad place to stay but needs some work. Breaky was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    141
    75
    21
    8
See reviews for
38
124
36
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Great location right off Bourke st mall. Rooms are quite small but adequate and v clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic, only box cereal and toast, a much better option is to go to one of the many cafes in the adjacent lane ways. Very quiet location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We needed a place in MEL for 3 nights and booked via ‘Agoda’, as we had bonus $ to be used. This was one of the few times that I did not check the commentary on TA. Only just before we left I checked and got serious doubts about our choice, but this was a classical example that one has to be careful with some comments on TA. We arrived mid morning and just wanted to dump our suitcases. The reception was very friendly and helpful and told us a room on the 5th floor is ready for us. It would be a free upgrade as we were to stay 3 nights. We had pre-paid including breakfast and everything was dinky-dory.
The rooms was compact, but clean and the whole floor would have had a renovation not more than 2 yrs ago. That is all we wanted. We are not going to MEL to stay in our hotel room, so why paying for fancy extras we'll not use. The hotel is in one of the famous small laneways, full of restaurants and schmuck-bang in the centre of the CBD opposite Myers and DJs. You are in the centre of shopper’s paradise. It is noisy during daytime, but after 6pm it's all fine.
It was exactly what we needed and only 10-15 min walk from Theatres, Chinatown, Fed Square or the Southbank. We'll happily stay there again on future visits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We recently stayed here in two twin rooms and were a bit disappointed that they couldn't find us two rooms near each other or even on the same floor. The location is fantastic - right opposite Myers and David Jones, but the alleyway entrance meant that we could not get a taxi to pick us (and our luggage) from close by and taxi drivers didn't seem to know where it was.
Rooms were very snug, with the bathrooms even smaller. The biggest problem was the lift to the lobby was out of order when we arrived on the Friday and the reception staff advised that someone was coming to repair it. We then had carry our bags up through the fire exit to the second floor to the lift that was working and then carrry them down again on the Monday when we checked out (the lift was still not repaired). If you are not spending any time at the hotel and you are wanting somewhere central - this is your place. But we would spend a little bit money next time and go with a bit more comfort (and a working lift).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Causeway Inn On The Mall, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Good morning,

Thank your for your recent review of Causeway Inn on the Mall. I was pleased to note our location was fantastic and close to all in Melbourne. The main lift was out of service during your stay due to a faulty mechanism and was shut down for Occupational Health & Safety concerns of all. The repair of the lift was done as quick as possible.

My apologies for the inconvenience it caused you during your stay.

Regards

Paul Koenig

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. The rooms are extremely basic and loud as people come and go all night! Really what you pay for is the location. Being in the Bourke St mall is a fantastic location but that really is the best thing about the Causeway. Also, the showers have a serious temperament problem! We will not stay here again, partly due to the shabbiness and partly the bad service. If booking a twin room, I would suggest booking the superior room, as the standard twin is TINY! We could not walk around the room properly and we only had to medium sized suitcases!

WARNING TO FUTURE CUSTOMERS: Pay on arrival not prior! We paid via credit card before hand and they held the money. We then had to pay upfront anyway when we arrived and the money wasn't released on the credit card for several weeks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in a family room consisting of one double and two single beds. We spent very little time in the room, apart from sleeping but found it quite adequate. Tariff included continental breakfast which was sufficient to get the day started. Fabulous coffee is available at the cafe opposite reception in the laneway so don't bother with the coffee at brekky. The thing about this Hotel is location, location, location. Trams on the mall just 2 minutes away; shopping right at the door. Yes, you have to take 2 separate lifts to get to your room. It's not a dealbreaker. If you want a fantastic location on a budget, this is the place.

Room Tip: There were noisy yobs on the mall on Saturday night but try a room away from the laneway might be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here last year and really enjoyed our stay so we decided to stay here again. The reception service people weren't as friendly as last year but we got into our room earlier than the normal check-in time. The room was basic which was fine but the bathroom was very small. The shower was so small you couldn't bend over in it and it was hard to get in and out off. We were on the 7th floor. My partner kept asking if we could have the room we stayed in last year which was on the 6th floor and after 3days of asking we were able to get another room on the 6th floor. It was really great of the night staff who managed to do that for us. It was great to have a bathroom with space and a shower that you can move around in. If we go back to Melbourne again we will think about whether we stay there again. Two kitchen staff on two days were rude by their mannerisms.

Room Tip: If you have been to a place before and enjoyed it try and see if you can book the same room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre.Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes.Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets.Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Inn On The Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.