We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel - good for a 2 week stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #66 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good business hotel - good for a 2 week stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Having read some reviews I had a few concerns. However, this was a perfect hotel for my 2 week trip.

Staff: Great, polite, happy to help.

Room Service: A better menu than in a lot of hotels, the food arrived faster than promised and was always hot and tasty. No cardboard burgers! The fish and chips were crisp and hot with plenty of Tartare sauce. The seasonal choices were good too (the menu changed while I was here).

Breakfast: Full Engish with all the trimmings, Americans will be happy as they have your crispy bacon too! Very occasionally when busy some items were missing but the staff were quick to replenish.

Decor: OK.. it needs a bit of a refresh but certainly not scruffy.

Sleep: Good sound and light proofing, comfortable bed very quiet air conditioning.

Bathroom: Decor a bit tired, no natural light, shower could have a little more pressure but perfectly usable.

Internet: Basic internet was free, high speed was extra. Wired and wireless available and perfectly serviceable (I could stream movies from Google Play with no problems).

Location: Handy for docklands, cabs usually right outside if needed and a very short walk to a tram stop but its only 30 minutes walk to the top end of the CBD (Parliament). The hotel is perfectly located for the Exhibition Centre and the Crown Entertainment complex the other side of the river.

Definitely somewhere I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    293
    125
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
178
48
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The toilet seat was filthy ! The worst we have seen ! We were moved to another room after complaining . We stayed for 5 nights. The bathroom was not mopped at all, toilet or wash basin was not cleaned with cleaning products,the shower & bathtub was also dirty !! the wash basin was dirty.,drain was filthy!! was not cleaned & the bathroom was not even vacuumed on a daily basis. Vacuumed just once in 5 days, unacceptable !! Still waiting for the manager to meet us after notifying him!!
Watched cleaner use face towel to wipe sink & table !!

Room Tip: Ask for a clean bathroom as staff said they were not aware of dirty toilet & bathroom. Rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Doreen R,

Thank you again for bringing the challenges you faced to our attention. I was indeed grateful for the opportunity to speak with you during your stay and am aware that both my Duty Manager and Executive Housekeeper attended to and addressed your concerns immediately upon your feedback.
Upon you next visit, it would be my pleasure to oversee your booking personally, and would ask that you contact me directly at reservations.melfs@ihg.com. I welcome the opportunity to redeem your faith in us.

With kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was my first stay at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne and I was there for 6 nights while attending a convention at the Convention Center. The hotel is well maintained and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The location to the convention center is perfect as it’s just across the bridge and only a short walk.

I included breakfast with my rate and it was a fairly good start to the morning with a chef preparing fresh eggs and a large hot and cold buffet including juices, coffee, fruit and vegetables.

The room was comfortable and I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very “green” being energy and water efficient but that was certainly noticed the most when taking a shower. The water pressure and volume of water is so low/slow that it would take an average person an additional 5-7 minutes to take a shower. The shower head uses the most minimal amount of water and pressure possible.

Other than the shower, the hotel was comfortable and I would consider staying here again if I needed to be next to the convention center. It rained several days during my trip and there was a convenient covered walkway over the bridge to the convention center as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear TravelinLeather,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our great location and access to the convention centre. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our water pressure here in the hotel. Your feedback assist us to better understand what our guests are experiencing. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for a few nights for work and found it a pleasant place to stay. Comfortable beds with a good pillow selection. Clean rooms if a little dated but ultimately for me, sleep quality matters and there are good block out blinds which make the rooms nice and dark.
Breakfast selection is great with a plentiful selection. I did not eat anything other than breakfast here as the food choices around the hotel are great but no issues with the food.
The gym was a little small and under stocked but with a couple of treadmills, elliptically, bikes and some pin machines and free weights there was enough to get a decent workout.
Will be back and found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an outer ring room as this will look over the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful and we had high hopes of a great night's stay as we checked in. Entered our room and it was fine. Certainly nothing outstanding (except the yummo chocolates on the bed) and quite small. The bed and pillows were comfortable, so five stars for those. The towels were terrible. We had an end room facing the river so the view was very nice.

Why wouldn't I stay here again? The internet never did work and it seems to be a standard problem. The towels are more suited for a cheap motel than a relatively pricey hotel. The room was overpriced for its quality & amenities. There must be better options close by and we will be looking for them.

We had late check-out but housekeeping knocked three different times starting at 0830 despite being told that we had late check-out. As normal check-out isn't until 1000, knocking on a guest's door at 0830 is simply unacceptable, especially a second and third time. And housekeeping really should know which guests have late check-out.

Ordered room service and the food was nearly inedible. Came to us cool and the meal did not match the description on the menu, it was missing key ingredients. Poor quality and no attention to detail.

Positives: it is well located, the staff were very good, there's a great bar/restaurant just next door at the Wharf Hotel.

If you can get a heck of a deal, maybe it would be worth staying here but it seems that there must be better options with so many hotels in the area. We were very disappointed. I sent emails to them to address some of the issues we had that were not cleared up on-site, but have never had a reply. Disappointing.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a river view and I'd immediately make sure that they have checked the router is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear KJANingaloo,

Thank you for your review and for highlighting your concerns over what did not meet your expectations. I was saddened to read that you were disappointed with your experience and that nobody has been in contact with you since your last visit. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss with you further, and would ask that you please contact me with your contact details at reservations.melfs@ihg.com.

I welcome the opportunity to address your concerns personally.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

What an excellent stay!
Online I got a brilliant price (hence not expecting much of the room) but was happily surprised. The only downside was the toilet lid that refused to stay up when one was sitting down!
I had exceptional service both prior to my stay with a request granted and followed up plus during the tenure at the hotel.
Location is exceptional for Crown casino and South Wharf precinct but a little walk from the city hub.
Overall, for a solid, well positioned hotel I would definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Missjane06,

Thank you for your positive review after your stay at our Hotel. We’re happy to read that you found our service exceptional and were able to take advantage of our great location. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbot

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

As the title suggests our stay here was great. The booking process online was easy. All staff throughout the stay were friendly and professional. The room was awesome... a good size with a lovely view. Importantly it was also very clean. The location was great, close to the tram stop as well as South Bank (and Crown Complex) which made a nice walk into the city. There was a huge selection for brekkie (including GF options) and the room service menu was also commendable. Overall it was good value for money and an enjoyable stay. Thanks Crowne.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view... loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear ClareyMac13,

Thank you for your kind review. We’re pleased to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and would have to agree our Hotel does sit in a great location! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne to enjoy our location, service and rooms.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.