We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4day business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“4day business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very clean, and had all business amenities that I required. Had a great view of the Yarra river at the casino side. Well worth asking for that view. Very friendly parking assitance and had my vehicle ready and waiting for when I requested.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the crown casino on the yarra river to see the flames in front of casino from 8pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Lee,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our prime city location, River View Room and staff were able to exceed your needs and expectations. I trust I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    325
    134
    30
    15
See reviews for
80
199
52
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days and found it very acceptable. The rates were reasonable by Australian standards and the room was quite a decent size. It is well located in CBD and I would stay here again. My room was 423 overlooking the river and very close to the Crown Casino. The staff were very helpful. When I had a problem with wifi (which is not unusual in Australia where wifi is generally poor and slow), they provided me with my own personal wireless router in my room. The wifi charge is 19AUD per day. One of my pet peeves is having to pay for wifi. It should be complementary and included in the room rate. Hilton and Marriott have got the message in the US and provide complimentary wifi, but Australia is still in the dark ages when it comes to connectivity.

Room Tip: 423 on the Fourth floor overlooking the river. Close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear polofson,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was a memorable experience. You will be happy to hear that we are currently looking at ways of improving our internet service delivery in order to meet the needs of our guests. I look forward to sharing your comments with our team and welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne when are are back in Victoria in the future.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza as I was working at an Expo at Jeffs Shed. The location was perfect for walking to the Exhibition Centre, South Bank and City. My room was a little dated (bath over shower) but the view more than made up for this, over looking the Yarra River and South Bank. You get a good look at the flames lighting up at night. Could probably look at the system they use for Valet parking - very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear happestos,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our River View Room exceeded your expectations . I do appreciate your feedback regarding our bathrooms and can assure you we are in the process of reviewing actions to improve these. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel room was a good size, very clean with a comfortable bed. We were situated in the middle of a long corridor overlooking the pool. We stayed two nights. On Friday night, we were woken five times by different groups/couples walking noisily to their rooms in the early hours. You could hear every word they were saying and it was impossible to sleep through the yelling and giggling. I was so disappointed about the disturbed sleep that I mentioned our experience to the reception staff. The manager and staff member were apologetic and moved us to the floor above where the end room (near the service elevator) was vacant. Our second night was free of any disturbances or noise. I highly recommend this hotel due to the responsive staff and efficient service. Many thanks to the helpful staff member on the front desk who made our stay comfortable and peaceful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridor if you don't want to be disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear N S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I was disappointed to learn that your first night was impacted on by the noise created by other guests, but naturally pleased that our team were able to accommodate your request to move to a quieter location within the Hotel. I am delighted that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and that you would recommend Crowne Plaza Melbourne to others. It is with great pleasure that I will be sharing your kind words with our Front Office team.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Directly across the River Yarra from the Casino and Convention Centre, the Crowne is a cheaper alternative to the Casino-run hotels.
The bathrooms have shower curtains and would probably be due for a refresh in the next few years.

My only complaint is that the wifi internet is not free.
These days, internet access is like hot water and air conditioning - an essential service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear SuJo-a-GoGo,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do appreciate your feedback regarding our bathrooms and can assure you we are in the process of reviewing actions to improve these. We are also looking at ways of improving our internet service delivery in order to meet the needs of our guests. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location of exploring Melbourne. It is also located just by the convention center.

The rooms are clean and of a good size. The bathrooms need a renovation soon.

Service and room-service are very well. The breakfast is also recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Mathias,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the level of service you received exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your warm comments to our Food and Beverage Team. I trust I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for three nights in the Crowne Plaza at Spencer Street while on a business trip in October 2013. It's located very conveniently close (a 10 minute walk at most) to Southern Cross railway station - where you can get airport shuttles for $17 one way. Also, close to Collins St where you have most of the offices - again a short walk away. Just as importantly, it's about 10 minutes walk from the Waterfront where you have a number of great restaurants, bars and pubs.

The room was standard Crowne Plaza fare - not too big but then that's expected. Wifi was fast and I would have been happier if I didn't have to walk as much from the lobby to the elevators. I didn't really have breakfast here so I can't comment on that. The staff was helpful and I never faced any problems with regards to service.

Will be staying here again for sure when I am in Melbourne next.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Pratish,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our prime city location and staff were able to exceed your needs and expectations. I will be sure to pass on your warm comments to our Team. I trust I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.