We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #62 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Wangaratta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza as I was working at an Expo at Jeffs Shed. The location was perfect for walking to the Exhibition Centre, South Bank and City. My room was a little dated (bath over shower) but the view more than made up for this, over looking the Yarra River and South Bank. You get a good look at the flames lighting up at night. Could probably look at the system they use for Valet parking - very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear happestos,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our River View Room exceeded your expectations . I do appreciate your feedback regarding our bathrooms and can assure you we are in the process of reviewing actions to improve these. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    275
    113
    28
    14
See reviews for
75
173
46
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel room was a good size, very clean with a comfortable bed. We were situated in the middle of a long corridor overlooking the pool. We stayed two nights. On Friday night, we were woken five times by different groups/couples walking noisily to their rooms in the early hours. You could hear every word they were saying and it was impossible to sleep through the yelling and giggling. I was so disappointed about the disturbed sleep that I mentioned our experience to the reception staff. The manager and staff member were apologetic and moved us to the floor above where the end room (near the service elevator) was vacant. Our second night was free of any disturbances or noise. I highly recommend this hotel due to the responsive staff and efficient service. Many thanks to the helpful staff member on the front desk who made our stay comfortable and peaceful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridor if you don't want to be disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear N S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I was disappointed to learn that your first night was impacted on by the noise created by other guests, but naturally pleased that our team were able to accommodate your request to move to a quieter location within the Hotel. I am delighted that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and that you would recommend Crowne Plaza Melbourne to others. It is with great pleasure that I will be sharing your kind words with our Front Office team.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Directly across the River Yarra from the Casino and Convention Centre, the Crowne is a cheaper alternative to the Casino-run hotels.
The bathrooms have shower curtains and would probably be due for a refresh in the next few years.

My only complaint is that the wifi internet is not free.
These days, internet access is like hot water and air conditioning - an essential service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear SuJo-a-GoGo,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do appreciate your feedback regarding our bathrooms and can assure you we are in the process of reviewing actions to improve these. We are also looking at ways of improving our internet service delivery in order to meet the needs of our guests. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location of exploring Melbourne. It is also located just by the convention center.

The rooms are clean and of a good size. The bathrooms need a renovation soon.

Service and room-service are very well. The breakfast is also recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Mathias,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the level of service you received exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your warm comments to our Food and Beverage Team. I trust I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for three nights in the Crowne Plaza at Spencer Street while on a business trip in October 2013. It's located very conveniently close (a 10 minute walk at most) to Southern Cross railway station - where you can get airport shuttles for $17 one way. Also, close to Collins St where you have most of the offices - again a short walk away. Just as importantly, it's about 10 minutes walk from the Waterfront where you have a number of great restaurants, bars and pubs.

The room was standard Crowne Plaza fare - not too big but then that's expected. Wifi was fast and I would have been happier if I didn't have to walk as much from the lobby to the elevators. I didn't really have breakfast here so I can't comment on that. The staff was helpful and I never faced any problems with regards to service.

Will be staying here again for sure when I am in Melbourne next.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Pratish,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our prime city location and staff were able to exceed your needs and expectations. I will be sure to pass on your warm comments to our Team. I trust I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is well situated to let you enjoy everything Melbourne has to offer. Situated on the river bank with superb views of the city, it is very comfortable with a friendly staff and excellent facilities, although the restaurant was a bit disappointing for evening meals. Better to eat out at one of the many riverside restaurants. Happy hour in the lounge bar made the drinks a bit more affordable but still expensive by UK standards.

Room Tip: An up-stream river view room is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear James,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us and am sorry to note of your experience with our Restaurant, Clarendon St Grill. We have recently made changes to our menu and I trust we have the opportunity to offer you a better dining experience upon a future visit. I look forward to sharing your comments with our team and welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very pleased with my stay at the Crowne Plaza. I have stayed in several hotels in the Melbourne CBD and not many compare nor come close to the Crowne Plaza.

Situated right in the heart of it all, right on the Yarra. The area at night is beautiful. This property is fantastic in Winter as you do not even really need to step outside of the complex in order to do anything.

I had a ladies weekend in Melbourne and this property was very lovely. We loved our beautifully cleaned room & the fantastic room service. The concierge and reception staff couldn't be more helpful.

Thank you Crowne Plaza Melbourne for providing such a high level or service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Leishie,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our concierge and reception teams were able to meet your needs and expectations. I look forward to sharing your comments with our team and welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#25 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.