We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay at Crown Plaza.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #61 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun stay at Crown Plaza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, right opposite Crown Casino, next door to the exhibition centre and a short walk to South Wharf DFO. Room was clean and beds comfy. We had two win rooms with adjoining doors. There were 6 of us girls sharing the two rooms for a hens weekend. Staff at reception desk extremely helpful and friendly. Alert parking was a little expensive at $40 per day but I paid it anyway. Bathroom had a shower/bath and was of an average size for a hotel. Would recommend this hotel again for its location ad friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kylie21,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff and prime city location and were able to exceed your expectations. I appreciate your feedback regarding the room and parking and will be sure to pass on these comments to our teams for further action. I trust we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    275
    113
    28
    14
See reviews for
75
173
46
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the first time and have enjoyed the experience - staff are friendly without being over the top - room was clean and had a great river view (would have appreciated a complimentary biscuit to go with tea in room) - restaurant served up very good but pricy food but that appears to be the norm these days - yes would definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for river view above fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear David M,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff, service and prime city location and were able to exceed your expectations. I appreciate your feedback regarding the biscuit and food prices and will be sure to pass on these comments to our teams for further action. I trust we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 5 nights. Waking up to the Yarra every morning was quite a sight! The hotel is so close to the casino, DFO shopping and the trains/trams. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable. The little touches were quite nice - your choice of a pillow, other supplies if you needed them, the robe and slippers. I also liked the 'viewing' chairs that they position in front of the large windows in every floor near the elevators, it's a great idea if you're waiting around as the views are spectacular.

Breakfast was really good, we didn't try room service as there's so much restaurants to try in Melbourne. Breakfast buffet there was a variety of food to choose from which after 5 days gave us a good selection.

Generally service was pretty good. The stand out though is the concierge team. I have to commend Kore and his team - they were very friendly and helpful and didn't think twice about helping me with some odd requests. They really are an asset to your hotel and it's so nice to walk in everytime with such a warm welcome from these guys.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Yarra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear mshuggie,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that Crowne Plaza Melbourne’s location and service exceeded your expectations. I look forward to passing on your warm comments to our teams, especially the Concierge team led by Kore, I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there while on business trip. Hotel is about 10-15 walk from main part of downtown and also close to the tram. During the day it's easy to hop on the free circle line going around downtown. Very close to Southbank (just across the bridge) and casino. Overall very nice area to stay. Hotel itself is typical crowne plaza property. Rooms not very large but comfortable. Shower and bathroom are fine and everything was pretty well maintained. Will stay there again when in Melbourne next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear gbumaga,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that Crowne Plaza Melbourne’s location and service exceeded your expectations. I look forward to passing on your warm comments to all of our teams and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for another great stay.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here now around 4-5 times over the last 2 years and their consistency amazes me.
Whilst not at the budget end of hotels in Melbourne, their price gives you bang for your buck but more so the quality, service, attention to detail and position in the city/waterfront makes it a quality choice when you compare the added expense of taxi's or public transport, which is so often forgotten about. Pillow selection (for fussy pillow people) is to die for. Enjoy !

Room Tip: Ask if there is any chance of a free upgrade. You never know !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear 12NorthernLights,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that Crowne Plaza Melbourne’s location and service exceeded your expectations. I look forward to passing on your warm comments to all of our teams and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for another great stay.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked a grand king river view room for 2 nights to enjoy a weekend in Melb to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

We arrived at the entrance and the valet came out to help with our bags and valet park our car. The receptionist who checked us in offered complimentary champagne to help our celebration which we happily accepted. She didn't mention it but we were upgraded to a suite overlooking south wharf. It was a nice surprise when we entered the room. Our champagne arrived shortly after with a lovely card from the hotel.

The suite was spacious with a separate living room and bedroom and 2 bathrooms. The king bed was comfortable and the furniture was in good order and the carpet appeared to be almost brand new. The bathrooms are small, clean and functional rather than luxurious. Not a big fan of shower curtains.

Breakfast was included in our rate and the buffet and service were both very good. This hotel is in a great location for eateries, shopping and everything Melbourne city has to offer. We walked to the Monet exhibition at the art centre along south bank which is an enjoyable stroll. We enjoyed dinner at the wharf pub next door and it was only a short walk to DFO.

Over the years we have stayed in quite a few CBD hotels in Melb and the first time we stayed here I booked it by mistake as I thought I was booking a room at Crown Casino but we keep coming back to Crowne Plaza because we like the location and amenity offered for the price we pay. Thanks Crowne for making our anniversary weekend that bit more special.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Geel0nggirl,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear your anniversary stay with us was special and memorable. I look forward to sharing your warm comments with our team, and thank-you for choosing our hotel each time you visit Melbourne. I am glad we are able to exceed your needs and expectations and I trust I have the opportunity to welcome you and your partner back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The service is excellent from the concierge, reception, housekeeping and restaurant staff are very friendly and professional. Their service were excellent and honest. The hotel is situated at a good location. It is very close to the city circle tram, DFO, Crown casino and the view is also beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Yetweei,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear that Crowne Plaza Melbourne’s location and service exceeded your expectations. I am also very glad to hear your IHG Rewards benefits were used to your full advantage. I trust I have the opportunity to welcome you and your partner back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.