We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I'd expect for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what I'd expect for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful... room badly overpriced seeing as room was so small. Outdated bathroom and towels. . hearing other guests shower. . TV had broken and lamp had blown.. disappointed to say the least being a country lady I was hoping for a luxurious night away. Shame.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear rjl3007,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    326
    134
    30
    15
See reviews for
81
199
52
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

we stayed here during Australian open.
great location, you can walk to the huge casino which has all the nice dining options you need across the street.
it is facing the river and you can even walk to shops across the river by walking nice view of the river.
rooms are standard but clean.
small room .

Room Tip: choose river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great waterfront location - ask for a river view when you book! Handy for business trips or shopping & a show! Close to the Casino and walking distance to most things. Cable car stops close by too. Downside was the stairs! I'll explain - the Reception was on a floor lower than the lifts to the rooms so you had to go up a lot of steps or use an escalator (with your cases) on arrival and when leaving the hotel - the only way to reach the lifts to get to all guests floors/rooms. No one offered to take my case and I didn't see anyone else get assisted either. Rooms clean and well maintained but towels need to be updated. Restaurant food excellent taste and value (2 course deal $45) and service good and staff very attentive and friendly. Bed comfy and all very clean. Only downside was really the stairs to the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Carol K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed the view from our property and the restaurant service was up to your liking. I apologize that the layout of the hotel was not completely to your liking. We take all feedback seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimmera
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Within 10 mins easy walk down Spencer Street from Southern Cross railway station. Pricey enough but so central which saves on time, taxis etc.. Room small and toilet seat and electric jug needed replacing as they were well worn!! Didn't like the heavily "air-freshener sprayed corridors!!!!However, location was quiet and suited the need for Conference accomodation. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request room with river view - rather than roof-top/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a business traveller I found this hotel excellent. It's centrally located within walking distance for both South and North side of Melbourne. The rooms are spacious and very cosy, the breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of options. I had dinner one evening at the hotel restaurant where I tried the 2 course deal for $45. I must say the food was excellent and way above my expectations. The staff is very attentive and polite however I decided to give 4 out of 5 only because my credit card has been double charged due to the checkout staff not paying attention to the fact that my stay has been paid in advance. I am still trying to get my money back and as in a lot of these cases they are always very quick charging you but not quite fast refunding the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although not a new this hotel still looks fresh and modern. My room did not have a river view but was clean and functional. A very good point was the quality of tea bags provided, they were excellent. On the other hand I think it is time for new towels, mine had lost their fluffiness quite some time ago. Check in staff were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Front desk service was excellent. About 1/2hr after I got to my room, the front desk rang to check that all was OK. River View room on the third floor. Amazing views of the Casino, gas show at night and beautiful sunrises in the morning with hot air balloons in the distance.

Comfy bed, good bathroom but getting dated. Could hear noise from above and room next door but nothing that was worth complaining about. Had room service for both dinners and breakfasts. Quite nice for room service. With the Casino across the river and Southbank a little further along, if you want really nice food - those are the obvious options.

Only minor thing that annoyed me was, if you wanted a paper there was a door hanger to place out the night before. Both nights I did this and never received a paper, yet rooms around me had them. I certainly wasn't paying a budget price, so not sure what happened there. When asked, a paper was promptly delivered.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.