We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #65 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
wimmera
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Within 10 mins easy walk down Spencer Street from Southern Cross railway station. Pricey enough but so central which saves on time, taxis etc.. Room small and toilet seat and electric jug needed replacing as they were well worn!! Didn't like the heavily "air-freshener sprayed corridors!!!!However, location was quiet and suited the need for Conference accomodation. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request room with river view - rather than roof-top/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    316
    129
    28
    15
See reviews for
79
191
50
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a business traveller I found this hotel excellent. It's centrally located within walking distance for both South and North side of Melbourne. The rooms are spacious and very cosy, the breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of options. I had dinner one evening at the hotel restaurant where I tried the 2 course deal for $45. I must say the food was excellent and way above my expectations. The staff is very attentive and polite however I decided to give 4 out of 5 only because my credit card has been double charged due to the checkout staff not paying attention to the fact that my stay has been paid in advance. I am still trying to get my money back and as in a lot of these cases they are always very quick charging you but not quite fast refunding the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although not a new this hotel still looks fresh and modern. My room did not have a river view but was clean and functional. A very good point was the quality of tea bags provided, they were excellent. On the other hand I think it is time for new towels, mine had lost their fluffiness quite some time ago. Check in staff were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Front desk service was excellent. About 1/2hr after I got to my room, the front desk rang to check that all was OK. River View room on the third floor. Amazing views of the Casino, gas show at night and beautiful sunrises in the morning with hot air balloons in the distance.

Comfy bed, good bathroom but getting dated. Could hear noise from above and room next door but nothing that was worth complaining about. Had room service for both dinners and breakfasts. Quite nice for room service. With the Casino across the river and Southbank a little further along, if you want really nice food - those are the obvious options.

Only minor thing that annoyed me was, if you wanted a paper there was a door hanger to place out the night before. Both nights I did this and never received a paper, yet rooms around me had them. I certainly wasn't paying a budget price, so not sure what happened there. When asked, a paper was promptly delivered.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here in December and it was amazing, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and super clean. The hotel is at a perfect location close to DFO shopping, accross the road from the tram stop and walking distance to the casino. It was an amazing stay and definately recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Has a great weekend at the Lions Test in Melbourne.
The Crowne Plaza is 200 yards from Crown Casino with Spencer Street Station 500 yards away.
Perfect location with great service and superb staff, truly a great hotel right in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arrived after 2pm to be told our room wasn't ready as someone had smoked in our original room and so we had to be moved. We were also told they were really busy and that was another reason the room wasn't ready. We were given drink vouchers and asked to wait in the bar, as were a lot of other guests. Almost an hour went past before I asked and we were finally told they had upgraded us to a river view, we had this in our booking but we were now on the first floor. Room was OK, but one chair for a room that caters for 4 people? We ordered room service twice, over priced, over cooked and both times forgot an item. Dinner in the restaurant was again, over priced and service as terrible. Left waiting for long periods and asked for dessert menu but left without ordering as after 20 minutes of no one taking the order, we gave up. Upon check out, we were billed for services we had not used and were spoken to very rudely by the girl who served us when I pointed out the error.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. For a similar price you will get better facilities and a more pleasant experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Marni-Lee,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.