We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well maintained, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although not a new this hotel still looks fresh and modern. My room did not have a river view but was clean and functional. A very good point was the quality of tea bags provided, they were excellent. On the other hand I think it is time for new towels, mine had lost their fluffiness quite some time ago. Check in staff were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    296
    125
    28
    14
See reviews for
78
179
48
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Front desk service was excellent. About 1/2hr after I got to my room, the front desk rang to check that all was OK. River View room on the third floor. Amazing views of the Casino, gas show at night and beautiful sunrises in the morning with hot air balloons in the distance.

Comfy bed, good bathroom but getting dated. Could hear noise from above and room next door but nothing that was worth complaining about. Had room service for both dinners and breakfasts. Quite nice for room service. With the Casino across the river and Southbank a little further along, if you want really nice food - those are the obvious options.

Only minor thing that annoyed me was, if you wanted a paper there was a door hanger to place out the night before. Both nights I did this and never received a paper, yet rooms around me had them. I certainly wasn't paying a budget price, so not sure what happened there. When asked, a paper was promptly delivered.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here in December and it was amazing, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and super clean. The hotel is at a perfect location close to DFO shopping, accross the road from the tram stop and walking distance to the casino. It was an amazing stay and definately recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Has a great weekend at the Lions Test in Melbourne.
The Crowne Plaza is 200 yards from Crown Casino with Spencer Street Station 500 yards away.
Perfect location with great service and superb staff, truly a great hotel right in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arrived after 2pm to be told our room wasn't ready as someone had smoked in our original room and so we had to be moved. We were also told they were really busy and that was another reason the room wasn't ready. We were given drink vouchers and asked to wait in the bar, as were a lot of other guests. Almost an hour went past before I asked and we were finally told they had upgraded us to a river view, we had this in our booking but we were now on the first floor. Room was OK, but one chair for a room that caters for 4 people? We ordered room service twice, over priced, over cooked and both times forgot an item. Dinner in the restaurant was again, over priced and service as terrible. Left waiting for long periods and asked for dessert menu but left without ordering as after 20 minutes of no one taking the order, we gave up. Upon check out, we were billed for services we had not used and were spoken to very rudely by the girl who served us when I pointed out the error.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. For a similar price you will get better facilities and a more pleasant experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Marni-Lee,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms with fantastic bathrooms. In room dining almost restaurant quality. Really a splendid place to stay whether you are a gambler or not.

Bedding is great quality, with plenty of space to spread out the laptop and work stuff. One down side would be that there are no real cheap alternatives for F&B, everything is at a cost.

If you are planning on working in the building (AV), you will need to do the induction program online prior to commencing work.

Staff were friendly and very attentive, things like the pool, gym, and spa it is all top notch.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It's all about location in Melbourne and this hotels location is spot on! Right on the river in Melbourne opposite Crown Casino offering first class style and comfort.

The room was great - bed was amazingly comfortable and room was spacious, neat and clean. The bathroom was of decent size however I was disappointed with the shower. It was 1 of those shower in the bath set ups. They drive me nuts in hotels!

For a hotel in the city with traffic around 24-7 - I didn't notice any traffic noise what so ever! Big plus to this property!

Check in was easy and prompt as was check out. Staff were pleasant, punctual and clearly there to give the best to their customers. Navigation getting into the hotel proved difficult - especially if your not from Melbourne as it can be daunting enough trying to navigate where your going.

Parking is offered at a discounted rate but parking is not on the hotel premises. It's located about a 10 minute walk from the hotel at a Wilson's carpark facility. If you have lots of luggage or kids. I'd recommend unloading and loading by bringing your car around to the front of the hotel. The hotel has a concierge service that will park your vehicle for a cost.

The hotel was very quiet. I was staying there when an AFL team was utilising the hotel as well after a game and there was no noise what's so ever (go the swans!)

Extremely easy access to taxis, trams and shopping with it being a short walk to the CBD and southern cross train station and an even shorter walk to Crown Casio that offers great entertainment and dining along the river side

Room Tip: Carpark is a short distance from the hotel (10 min walk) - drop your bags off at check in and pick t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.