We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #74 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It was our first trip to Australia, attending the tennis Open last January. We were warmly greeted by the friendly front desk, and our room, overlooking the Yarra river, was clean and spacious, especially the bathroom and its amenities (loved the TV above the bathtub). The location was excellent for walking to the Tennis ( about 15 minutes) and the proximity to the Southbank restaurants was welcome. At the end of a long tennis day, the water taxis dropped us off just a few hundred yards from the hotel. The breakfast offering was varied, inventive and dishes could be made to order. For runners, the location is ideal, along the boardwalk both sides of the river and by the Rowing Clubs back to the hotel (or a reverse circuit, about 5K). We were on a tennis package and our seats were great: some friends of ours from Canada were staying elsewhere and could not get tickets to see Federer play- but our concierge came through- they were not inexpensive, but it probably saved a relationship! We highly recommend the Crowne and will stay there again next time in Melbourne.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    408
    167
    42
    20
See reviews for
105
250
57
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed twice within two weeks - the first stay was great. The second - not so great. The bathroom still had rubbish left behind by the previous guest & if that wasn't bad enough while I was in the shower - a male from housekeeping opened the bathroom door - announcing that I had ordered more towels. Ah no - wrong room - & def wrong bathroom!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mckenzie88,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the bathroom conditions that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I attended a function at the Crown Casino and found the Crowne Plaza to be a great place to stay and so close to the casino. We noticed how close we were to the Etihad stadium and the Convention centre. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Hammygreen for your recent review,

It was great to read that you had such a pleasant time here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We agree that Crowne Plaza Melbourne’s location is one of its key features with close access to the Casino and Southbank precinct as well as the Convention Centre right across the Yarra river. It was also nice to hear that you found our team members to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Crown's location is exceptional - glorious views from one of the greatest perspectives of an incredible city! Rooms are luxurious with comforts aplenty. I booked to access the marvellous pool on 3rd floor. Can't comment on casino experiences but dining choices are excellent, concierge clever & I can walk to Melbourne's most exciting sites - but staying within the complex - how do I decide? Too many choices.

Room Tip: I took pot luck - if this is a basic room then top of the range must be extraordinary - my view is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am staying for work in the worst hotel in Melbourne. High pitched constant whine in the room all night so far. The services folder in the room has pages missing - not even a room service menu! Went to the restaurant and the staff were surly and the food atrocious. Finally ignored by the concierge when trying to find out another place to eat. Will make sure I book elsewhere next time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Rob2102,

We were disappointed to read that your experience here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne was not to your expectations and not up to the usual high standards that we aim to consistently deliver to our guests. Most regretful is that your interactions with our team members in the restaurant as well as the concierge left you feeling ignored and unappreciated. Please be assured that we will pass your comments through to the hotel departments as a learning tool so that we can continue to improve in everything we do.

Kind regards

The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Could not fault this high-quality, well laid out room and in particular the comfortable bed and pillows. Not a great location unless you want the casino or convention centre, but still central and walkable to most things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear TravellingJulie,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the room, bed and pillows. The beds have been replaced recently and we are getting some great feedback about how comfy they are.

See you next time

Kind regards

The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaspray
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Crowne Plaza for 2 nights and were very surprised. We lived around the corner for a year and know the property well as passers by!!!
We were finishing off our romantic stay in Melbourne. We have moved to the country so Melbourne visits are a treat and being a tourist in the town where you grew up is a blast....
Crowne Plaza - the staff are helpful and professional, we had a bar meal for lunch and it was so good we booked into the restaurant. The evening meal and service was great...
We booked a room with a river view and the view of Melbourne was special. The room was also large light and recently refurbished, it was delightful and the best place to watch the Crown Casino gas flame show on the hour at night.
I will be staying here again - I did not know this property was so good. It is also within walking distance of all Melbourne has to offer the visitor - can walk to the famous South Melbourne dim sims!!!!
I read other reviews with interest and often you see very good reviews with one small negative point. I could find minor negative points about all my experiences I select to focus on the positive aspects of my travels. Some things do not need to be said.....
Great hidden gem give it a go....

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Frank C

Thanks for the great review. We also think there are some really wonderful aspects of Crowne Plaza Melbourne especially the location and the glorious view down the Yarra River. We encourage all our guests to upgrade to a King Deluxe River View Room at the time of booking to avoid disappointment. We were also pleased to see how much you enjoyed our food and beverage experience in the hotel restaurant Clarendon Street Grill.

Kind Regards

The Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
0.3 mi away
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.