We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #60 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crowne Plaza Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed last month for a business trip and it's so handy to Southbank and good restaurants the Casino. Nice clean quiet modern hotel.
Great views of the city and lots of wonderful eating and drinking places just outside of the hotel.
Directly opposite you have the new DFO Direct Factory Outlet. Fantastic pricings and bargains.
The great thing about the hotels location is that it’s on the city side of the river and very close to the city without the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river are the ones you should ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Martykrahge,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay with us. We are blessed to be positioned in such a great location, close to the city, Southbank, shopping, restaurants, etc. Our rooms overlooking the Yarra River are spectacular and very popular. We encourage all our guests to upgrade to a King Deluxe River View Room at time of booking to avoid disappointment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regard,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    272
    111
    28
    13
See reviews for
74
172
46
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fabulous experience right from the moment we booked. The staff at this hotel were some of the best we have experienced at any hotel. Late check out approved even though it was a week end, concierge waited with me while my husband collected the car, no pressure to valet park even directed us to carpark they use. Nothing was too much trouble and were very helpful during our stay. Apples in bowl on each floor level, a nice touch. Normally stay at nearby Clarion Suites but due to no availabilities tried Crowne. All our future stays in Melboune will be here now. Keep up the good work Crowne Plaza. Excellent position on the Yarra River.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Gayle C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.
We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially relish our level of service - we do try and go above and beyond our guest's expectations where we can.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville QLD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, expectations were high because of hotel rating and its great location, first impression was good but things went downhill from there. Front desk and Concierge service great. The room was clean but the bathroom was not, initially thought it was an oversight but did not improve with daily service. To cap it off had placed breakfast order as per instructions for early start the next day but this failed to arrive, by the time I realised I was running late for trip to the airport. Not a good way to start the day or remember this hotel, overall experience disappointing and will not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jenny D,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.
We were extremely disappointed to read that your experience was not up to the high standards that we strive to achieve.

While we can see that there were some areas of the hotel that you enjoyed, the cleanliness of the bathroom was obviously lacking as well as the negative experience that you encountered with our room service team. Please be assured that we have passed on your feedback to the relevant departments and are constantly trying to find ways to improve our service.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed last Saturday night and it's so handy to Southbank and the Casino. I honestly expected a bit of noise throughout the night with sirens and people, but I couldn't believe that I slept straight through. We were on level 7 and the block out curtains do a great job.
Sure it's not the fanciest of hotels, but the bed was comfy enough and the river view room I had gave us one of the best views in Melbourne. The bathrooms are a little tired so that's why I gave it 4 stars and not 5. I wouldn't hesitate at staying here again. I mentioned that it was hubby's birthday when we checked in and we were surprised later on to come back to a bottle of wine on ice, and a nice handwritten card. The buffet breakfast was excellent, we arrived at peak time around 9ish and it was well stocked and not overly crowded, plenty of room for everyone, and even an omelette station! Brilliant standard check out of 12pm, and they even extended it to 2pm for us. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Melissa G,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your husband’s birthday more memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Room was great, bed was comfortable and service was outstanding, I had no issues at all during my last trip to Melbourne.

The Business Centre is free and easy to use.

The only negative is that it's a walk and escalators between the check in and elevator to rooms! but that's a nothing

Room Tip: Higher up, but really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Travellingredwhite,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our comfortable beds and great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights for our anniversary. We had a room on the 7th floor overlooking the Yarra river...great view. Room was clean and spacious , along with mini bar , tea and coffee making facility.
Staff at hotel were friendly and courteous.
We would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear CharlieBrigid.

Congratulations on your recent anniversary, its great to see you chose to spend that special time with us, we trust you enjoyed all that Melbourne has to offer. The view from your room overlooking the Yarra River is spectacular and very popular. We encourage all our guests to upgrade to a King Deluxe River View Room at time of booking to avoid disappointment.

Maybe we will see you again for you next anniversary

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

What a find this hotel is! Wonderful staff very informative. Rooms are neat and tidy very quiet, excellent breakfast. The position of this hotel is ideal close to everything the city has to offer, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Jenny M

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.