We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel, really enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #60 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good hotel, really enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Room was great, bed was comfortable and service was outstanding, I had no issues at all during my last trip to Melbourne.

The Business Centre is free and easy to use.

The only negative is that it's a walk and escalators between the check in and elevator to rooms! but that's a nothing

Room Tip: Higher up, but really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Travellingredwhite,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our comfortable beds and great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    287
    117
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
174
47
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights for our anniversary. We had a room on the 7th floor overlooking the Yarra river...great view. Room was clean and spacious , along with mini bar , tea and coffee making facility.
Staff at hotel were friendly and courteous.
We would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear CharlieBrigid.

Congratulations on your recent anniversary, its great to see you chose to spend that special time with us, we trust you enjoyed all that Melbourne has to offer. The view from your room overlooking the Yarra River is spectacular and very popular. We encourage all our guests to upgrade to a King Deluxe River View Room at time of booking to avoid disappointment.

Maybe we will see you again for you next anniversary

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

What a find this hotel is! Wonderful staff very informative. Rooms are neat and tidy very quiet, excellent breakfast. The position of this hotel is ideal close to everything the city has to offer, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Jenny M

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We usually stay at Intercontinental Rialto but couldn't get a room with our vouchers so decided to stay at Crowne Plaza.The hotel is in a great spot but the entrance leaves a lot to be desired. I must say the hotel doesn't have a lot to work with.
We received a lovely greeting. Being platinum members we were given an upgrade but I think it was only to a higher floor and not a bigger room.
There was also no free wi fi for platinum members. Strange as we get it at ICH Rialto
We were however given a nice bottle of wine.
That said the room was pleasant with great view of the river, the bathroom small and tired, pillows flat and bed only OK.
The TV reception was atrocious and very difficult to watch the football.I would have expected better.
The staff were nice and the breakfast very good.
For the price OK but I am afraid it is the Intercontinental for us. We are at home there , the staff in the club lounge know us and always welcome us with open arms.
This hotel just didn't do it for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was stay in the hotel for about 1 weeks for business trip. During my stay, I feel very comfortable.
What make me happy about the hotel is that the hotel is located not far from the heart of Melbourne city, and just across Melbourne Exhibition hall.
With beautiful night view of Yarra river, I really love my experience of walking from Flinders Central Station to the hotel...
Inside the room, I think it is not average, but not excellent either. I would rather say "very good" just like normal 4-5 star hotel room and facility.
What I can tell is that the room is very clean and comfortable, the bathroom is also clean.
that two are the most thing that I look for the hotel I stay.

Room Tip: select one with Yarra River view... it is georgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here one night and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were all very attentive and extremely helpful.

The room was very clean and had everything I needed. Lovely crisp, white sheets and big selection of pillows. The gym had all the basics needed for a decent workout.

The 11am check out time is another little bonus.

Nicely located alongside the Yarra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

For a one night stay, visiting family, this was an ideal location. We could walk and explore the South Bank right across the bridge, and use the city circle free tram to get around on the other side. Cab rank right outside. Huge window in room let in plenty of light and a view. Quiet room and all necessary facilities. We breakfasted heartily at the lobby bar, as we didn't need a big buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: You probably get a better view on the northern side, if you are willing to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.