We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #65 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was stay in the hotel for about 1 weeks for business trip. During my stay, I feel very comfortable.
What make me happy about the hotel is that the hotel is located not far from the heart of Melbourne city, and just across Melbourne Exhibition hall.
With beautiful night view of Yarra river, I really love my experience of walking from Flinders Central Station to the hotel...
Inside the room, I think it is not average, but not excellent either. I would rather say "very good" just like normal 4-5 star hotel room and facility.
What I can tell is that the room is very clean and comfortable, the bathroom is also clean.
that two are the most thing that I look for the hotel I stay.

Room Tip: select one with Yarra River view... it is georgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    284
    117
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
174
47
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here one night and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were all very attentive and extremely helpful.

The room was very clean and had everything I needed. Lovely crisp, white sheets and big selection of pillows. The gym had all the basics needed for a decent workout.

The 11am check out time is another little bonus.

Nicely located alongside the Yarra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

For a one night stay, visiting family, this was an ideal location. We could walk and explore the South Bank right across the bridge, and use the city circle free tram to get around on the other side. Cab rank right outside. Huge window in room let in plenty of light and a view. Quiet room and all necessary facilities. We breakfasted heartily at the lobby bar, as we didn't need a big buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: You probably get a better view on the northern side, if you are willing to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If I could 3.5, I would, I feel average is a bit harsh, but very good is not right either. A colleague and I stayed two nights on business and so my comments are based purely on a business perspective. We found the hotel was a bit expensive compared to our other approved hotel options. The rooms are quite small (our main problem for the price) and my room was quite noisy (air conditioning unit and fridge). However, they were clean and well kitted out. At check in reception was informative, time and location of breakfast, location of lifts and rooms etc. It's just the overall experience was not terribly memorable. Unlikely, I would spend personal money to stay for a holiday. I prefer to stay closer to actual CBD and prefer larger rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Juddster1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the size of the room, and ambient noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great place by yarra river, close to all of Melbourne's attractions trams right out the front. Nice buffet breakfast would recommend to friends if you can get a good price. Close to Melbourne aquarium and the casino if you are into winning some money or losing it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for over a week and what a great choice of hotel, Rooms were very clean, Good food and within a 5 min walk you have Casino, Shops, Boat rides Helicopter tours just something for everyone. Would recommend this hotel as very high and well-priced. When i return to Melbourne i will not go anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza hotel for any traveler in Melbourne, with its great location, brilliant service and excellent value. I ended up booking here after failing to book at any of tripadvisor's highly rated (and overpriced) Melbourne hotels as they were all fully booked. After my experience here i can safely conclude that this hotel is under-rated and belongs somewhere in the top ten of tripadvisor's Melbourne hotels list.

Got an airport transfer from the hotel, Corporate car, driver was great had a good chat and he knew his way around Melbourne taught us about the roads and stuff. Checked in late night, reception staff were very friendly, efficient and aware of my 18 hour flight to melbourne. Got a rfoom upgrade on the highest floor with a beautiful Yarra river view in a Deluxe Room with LCD flat TV and king bed. As room sizes go, i agree with many reviewers here definitely the room size is small, would've been nice if they were more spacious, however i personally didn't mind it much.

Wifi isn't free in the room, but it's free in the Business center, which is very convenient. Located right outside the elevators on the lobby floor, accessible 24/7 with your room key, with printing/copy facilities, you can hook up your own device for 1 hour or use their computers unlimited. I found this to be an excellent service which i hope Crowne plaza maintains in the future. Free in-room Wifi is what i'd like to see on my next visit.

Part of my deal was complimentary breakfast, while the menu didn't change on daily basis, i loved it. Was there every morning at 6am, staff were energetic and friendly. Can't recall the exact menu but as i recall they usually had bacon, eggs (all kinds), baked beans, sausages, pancakes, toasts, lots of bread types, organic fruit yogurts, fruits, salads, smoked salmon, cereals, and cold meats.

The hotel is in an old building, but a huge piece of real estate nonetheless. It has a massive lobby area with escalators connecting different levels in the lobby. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk to the southern Cross station and right beside a tram station. Lots of taxis lining up outside the hotel so transport wise you're covered. The famous Crown casino is across the bridge from the hotel, if you don't care about gambling you can go there just to eat.

Another great facility is their gym , which is very well equipped, and accessible at anytime with your room card, they do not have a spa/massage in the hotel but they have an in-room massage service outsourced to another company who can send you a female or male masseuse (whichever you prefer) to your room at your convenience (didn't get the chance to try it).

In terms of pricing , i got a great deal with 30% off as part of a special offer, which gave me a really good rate for 5 night stay. However on non-discount deals it can be a bit pricey, so try to hunt for bargains or book early.

My only complaint would be their "Credit card service charge" so if you pay with Credit card you are charged like 2% or 3% extra which was non-sense. It's the 21st century and no one should be charged "Extra" for using their credit card. The hotel manager told me its a government fee and not their fee, fair enough but i inquired at other hotels none of them had this kind of charge so i was left confused.

Overall great hotel, i don't give out a 5 point rating on Tripadvisor easily, so you can tell how satisfied i am with this hotel. Hopefully in the future they can renovate the rooms to be larger, provide free in-room wifi and remove the extra credit card charges.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a high floor, Yarra view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.