We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean, comfy rooms, great view of the river; Great Breakfast Buffet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Modern, Clean, comfy rooms, great view of the river; Great Breakfast Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We traveled to Australia for our first visit “down under” experience, starting with a packaged Brendan (Trafalgar) tour of 3 major cities, air, hotels, all breakfasts and some other included meals, with sightseeing and city tours included, then staying in Australia on our own later, for more touring.
Our first city stop on this introductory tour of Australia was in Melbourne, and we had really GREAT modern accommodations for the first few nights at the downtown Melbourne Crowne Plaza. Our room was ultra-modern, was extremely clean, was very well decorated and well organized, and our upper floor room happened to have a great view of the downtown Yarra River areas. LCD TV, safe, comfy bed, robes, nice view, clean modern bathroom, nice useable desk area – everything in the room was done very nicely!
The hotel bar in the lobby had some reasonable happy hour drink prices, so that we were able to sample some local Aussie brews and wines, before walking just a few blocks to the Crowne Casino along the Yarra River walk area, where there were lots of good multi-national restaurant choices, outdoor cafes, etc. to choose from, for dinners. The hotel breakfast buffet that was included in our room price plan (with a packaged tour group) was the BEST that we encountered, during our 5 hotel (5 cities) stay while on this trip. There was a variety of standard fruit, cereals, also a number of good hot items, and a cook-to-order omelet station, with a chef.
The hotel offered free use of internet-access-computers, in the business room, to get your email, etc., with a reasonable honor time-limit, to keep computers available to all. There was a very nice looking rooftop pool (night pool picture included), but we did not have time to enjoy it. We did book a separate sightseeing tour, on our “free day/day off” from group touring, and the local tour company picked us up and dropped us back off at this hotel, which made it easy and convenient (a bus trip out of town to see the popular “Penguin Parade”, nightly bird migration to their beach sleeping burrows).
Very nice place – would love to return again!

Room Tip: We had a high floor room that faced the Yarra River - Great view (see picture).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear MalibuFireman,

Thanks for the great review, we were pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We have recently updated our restaurant and bar menus, so we are very pleased that you enjoyed the food and beverage selections both at breakfast and in our bar for happy hour. The hotel has been receiving some very positive feedback regarding the extensive buffet breakfast we offer especially for our chef at the omelette station

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Crowne Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    253
    103
    27
    13
See reviews for
71
158
46
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location location location! Walking distance to casino and the wonderful Tramcar Restaurant. River view room (2xKing) allowed an overview of the flaming torches. An incredible experience for my daughter's birthday. Cannot say enough about the staff - incredibly courteous and professional especially the Concierge desk staff.

Room Tip: River view rooms have an amazing aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi CruisingNanna2013,

Thanks for the great review. We were happy to read that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us. River view rooms are amazing and are extremely popular, we encourage our guests to book our King Deluxe River View Room to secure a river view and avoid disappointment.

We look forward to seeing you again when you head back this way

King regards

Crowne Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location right on the Yarra river and close to everything you would want. The casino is right across the bridge and shops as well as restaurants and abundance. The staff and the Concierge desk and unbelievably helpful and informative. I cannot say enough about this hotel and especially the staff. It could even be a lesser hotel and I would still be happy to stay here just because of the friendly and helpful staff that makes this hotel perfect for a stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the river.. it's a great view no matter what floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear B787 skipper,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you found our team members friendly and helpful.

See you next time

Crowne Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is one of the more better experiences I had in Melbourne.
Location is good with nice eateries and views. I had the view of the helipad and river outside the woindow.

For punters, the crown casino is a draw as it is literally a stone throw away.

Room is comfortable with a good desk for business travellers like myself.

One grouse is the cost of the internet connection which is pretty steep in my opinion.
The other is the travel options which is not that convenient if you want to take the train with bags and stuff but not that unachievable if you travel a little lighter for movement around on the train system.

For first time travellers, buy the myki card.

Service of the staff was pretty fine but not exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Andylkj,

Thankyou for taking the time to complete a review. We were pleased too read that you enjoyed your stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back when you head back this way

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel to find that we could get into our room hours earlier, the reception staff were excellent in communicating how to find or where to go around the hotel and Melbourne. Our room was just beautiful with a great view of the city. We went to Gold Class that night and that was well worth the value to relax and enjoy a meal and drinks. Having meals along southbank overlooking the yarra was so peaceful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Kerrin54

Thanks for the great review, its great to hear you had a lovely time in the hotel as well as the surrounding restaurants and cinema. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is in a great location to take advantage of the Southbank precinct. Our River View rooms have stunning views of the Yarra River and the city and are extremely popular, we encourage our guests to book our King Deluxe River View Rooms to secure a river view and avoid disappointment.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed several times at the Crowne Plaza in the past and this time it was for nine nights.  The location is excellent and the staff friendly and welcoming.  The local resturants along South Wharf, Byblos and The Boat Builds Yard are great.

But I have to agree with others, the hotel does need a refurbishment. The rooms are clean and of a good size, but you can see where what looks like temporary repairs have been done.  In the bathroom, repaired floor tiles that don't match.  In the public areas the carpets certainly need replacing. The pool is nice, but let down by now rather shoddy changing facilities.  It is a shame as this hotel has one of the best locations on the Yarra, views up river and out to sea.  You're on route 96 to St Kilda, really close to South Bank, right by the Airport Shuttle Bus at Spencer St station.

While this did not spoil my stay specifically and I would stay again, I'm sure a small investment would give the hotel such a face lift.

Thanks to the staff and management for a pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Melbourne and especially the river front. Inwas there on business and found it very easy to walk to the office also along The Southbank. The casino and all of its eateries are near by too.
My room overlooked the river and was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.