We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com IHG
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location right on the Yarra river and close to everything you would want. The casino is right across the bridge and shops as well as restaurants and abundance. The staff and the Concierge desk and unbelievably helpful and informative. I cannot say enough about this hotel and especially the staff. It could even be a lesser hotel and I would still be happy to stay here just because of the friendly and helpful staff that makes this hotel perfect for a stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the river.. it's a great view no matter what floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear B787 skipper,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you found our team members friendly and helpful.

See you next time

Crowne Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    253
    103
    27
    13
See reviews for
71
158
46
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is one of the more better experiences I had in Melbourne.
Location is good with nice eateries and views. I had the view of the helipad and river outside the woindow.

For punters, the crown casino is a draw as it is literally a stone throw away.

Room is comfortable with a good desk for business travellers like myself.

One grouse is the cost of the internet connection which is pretty steep in my opinion.
The other is the travel options which is not that convenient if you want to take the train with bags and stuff but not that unachievable if you travel a little lighter for movement around on the train system.

For first time travellers, buy the myki card.

Service of the staff was pretty fine but not exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Andylkj,

Thankyou for taking the time to complete a review. We were pleased too read that you enjoyed your stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back when you head back this way

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel to find that we could get into our room hours earlier, the reception staff were excellent in communicating how to find or where to go around the hotel and Melbourne. Our room was just beautiful with a great view of the city. We went to Gold Class that night and that was well worth the value to relax and enjoy a meal and drinks. Having meals along southbank overlooking the yarra was so peaceful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Kerrin54

Thanks for the great review, its great to hear you had a lovely time in the hotel as well as the surrounding restaurants and cinema. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is in a great location to take advantage of the Southbank precinct. Our River View rooms have stunning views of the Yarra River and the city and are extremely popular, we encourage our guests to book our King Deluxe River View Rooms to secure a river view and avoid disappointment.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed several times at the Crowne Plaza in the past and this time it was for nine nights.  The location is excellent and the staff friendly and welcoming.  The local resturants along South Wharf, Byblos and The Boat Builds Yard are great.

But I have to agree with others, the hotel does need a refurbishment. The rooms are clean and of a good size, but you can see where what looks like temporary repairs have been done.  In the bathroom, repaired floor tiles that don't match.  In the public areas the carpets certainly need replacing. The pool is nice, but let down by now rather shoddy changing facilities.  It is a shame as this hotel has one of the best locations on the Yarra, views up river and out to sea.  You're on route 96 to St Kilda, really close to South Bank, right by the Airport Shuttle Bus at Spencer St station.

While this did not spoil my stay specifically and I would stay again, I'm sure a small investment would give the hotel such a face lift.

Thanks to the staff and management for a pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Melbourne and especially the river front. Inwas there on business and found it very easy to walk to the office also along The Southbank. The casino and all of its eateries are near by too.
My room overlooked the river and was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a Pool side room on the 5th Floor with a king size bed. If you arrive by foot (from Southern Cross railway station) it is difficult to find a way into the Hotel that doesn't require competing with traffic or 30 steps to the main reception with luggage!!! But there is an unmarked large glass sliding door on Spencer Street which has an escalator and lift that will take you to the reception area. The check-in process was a bit longer than normal for an online booking, as they don't charge your credit card until your arrival. The staff were friendly and professional. The location of the hotel is really only good for the casino and Southern Cross Station, but there is a tram stop right out front on the hotel and the No 96 tram will take you right into the CBD (Bourke St Mall), but you will need to already have purchased a Myki card to travel on it. I was glad that we didn't have a river view as you can hear the trams crossing the bridge and people down on the street from the 5th floor and it would have kept me awake. The room we had was quiet as long as the neighbours didn't use their bathroom. Was it good value for money. Not really. I have stayed in hotels with larger rooms, including parking & breakfast in the center of Melbourne CBD for $70 less. Our room cost $250. I thought it was a bit cheap to only have one dressing robe and only two mugs and spoons. No plates, no cutlery, no room in the fridge. So don't plan on taking food into your room. Only a quilt with two sheets was supplied for the bed, which also had a mattress topper. No blanket supplied, so your are either hot or cold. Nothing in between. Would I only stay here again - only if I was going to be visiting the casino for a concert or something like that and only for one night.

Room Tip: For a single night it doesn't really matter. If you on the river side, the higher up you are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear StephenIG,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the elevator and the room amenities have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is an interesting hotel, with a wonderful location in the middle of a gorgeous city. But to make it work, you need to know who to speak to. At the front desk, Chris is one of the managers and Mo is a clerk there, and they're terrific. Chris will one day be running this hotel. He's very very good. The concierges, Nathan and Matt are world class, and these guys are both going to wind up at world class hotels in Europe. They are really outstanding! And the manager, Stuart David, could not have been nicer or more accommodating. He was presented with a specific problem that he couldn't solve, but is nevertheless a smart, charming and capable guy on the way up. He handled it with real skill. Downstairs the restaurant is good, while Ann the omelet lady (breakfast only) is sensational. She's also the only omelet lady in all of Australia who can do a proper "Western Omelet." Only drawback to this place, the WIFI sucks. It is far too expensive. It times out. And everything about it is far too annoying. WIFI should always be free. (Just bury the price in the room, if you must.) This place needs to radically improve the WIFI if they're ever going to complete for business traveler bucks with the top class hotels. / Jeffrey Robinson

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.