We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the business traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #61 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for the business traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 2 weeks here as part of our move back to Melbourne. Being in a hotel for a long period is not ideal, but the Crowne made time fly. The location is fantastic - we could see the Crown Casino flames from our room. It was Chinese new year and thus we felt quite privileged to be able to see the fireworks from the convenience of the room.

Breakfast is quite good with the usual array of hot and cold items. They have cocoa pops and nutri grain which was a treat for my kids :)

The pool is outdoors - and a bit of a challenge of get to but enjoyable nonetheless. Right next to the world trade centre and the hustle and bustle of the Exhibition Centre. They had live music at the waterfront next door which made for an enjoyable Sunday afternoon. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the Yarra River - that way you can see the activity on the river and South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    275
    113
    28
    14
See reviews for
75
174
46
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed in Crown on many occasions. It is excellent hotel in prime location, close to all Melbourne attractions. The service is excellent. Hotel is top quality, very clean, friendly atmosphere. Food is great.

Room Tip: View over the river is always very attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a "typical" Crown Plaza, but location on the river and easy access to many restaurants make it a little more special. I was happy with the room and the service, but disappointed with the WiFi in the room - relatively slow and expensive. If you need to use a taxi, you will probably need to give yourself another 30 minutes, as on both days I had to wait around 25 minutes for a taxi to arrive (despite the staff's attempts).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear G4Tokyo,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, we were happy to read that you enjoyed your room as well as the service of the hotel team members. We do apologise for the delay you encountered waiting for a taxi during your stay.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for our anniversary weekend and was very surprised with a free bottle of wine and a lovely hand written note for our anniversary. The staff were wonderful. We stay there most times we come to Melbourne.This time we stayed on the 10th floor the view was amazing!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Robynsomerville,

Thanks for the fantastic review and happy anniversary. We were delighted to read that you decided to spend your special day with us. We also think the views from level 10 are quite stunning and are some of the best in Melbourne.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The buidling is 3/4 of a circle. Of course, at first, I had been given the room "on the inside". For 30AUD more (about 10% of the price), I could move to the river side. The room is nice, nice view. Very poor wifi (still 25AUD/24hrs). The staff is helpful.

Not sure I would try to get there again

Room Tip: River side, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear StephT06,

Thanks for the review, we believe the view is worth requesting and upgrading to, the view down the Yarra River is quite stunning both during the day and at night.

We were glad to read that you found our team members to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Agree that it's not the simplest hotel to find the entrance - but we were lucky and made it.

The porters took care of the rental car, check in was smooth and we were given a good size room overlooking the river/bridge and casino.

It is not a 5 star luxery hotel, but a decent upgrade on a HI.

Room service good, restaurant not impressive - would not reccomend

Staff very friendly and helpful whoever we spoke to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear PDW1,

Thanks for the feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. While we were pleased to read that you experienced helpful team members throughout the hotel, we were disappointed that your restaurant experience was not up to your expectations. The hotel will continue to focus on making improvements in this area.

We hope to see you again if you come back to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a two night weekend stay in Melbourne. Knowing the city quite well, the hotel (from a tourist point of view) is in a very good location. Trams on the doorstep and easy to walk to many attractions. If you are visiting Melbourne by car it can be difficult.  Only valet parking is available if you need flexibility and parking fees are high. 

The hotel itself is clean but a bit dated now. Staff were all helpful & courteous. The decor is simple but a little tired in places. We had a King bed room with a great view of the city and Yarra river. It's perfect to watch the city go by & the flame display from the crown casino opposite the hotel (for those unaware of this display - large plooms of flame jeteson from pillars along the length of the casino complex - its the biggest waste of natural gas on the planet!).

The bed was comfortable but the bathroom (although clean) was really quite poor for this class of hotel. You get a cramped little room, small bath/shower and a sink with crumbling edges & signs of mould around the tiling. This room was $280/night and considering rates are usually well over $200 a night here, I would have expected better.

I have never used valet parking before (I would rather spend the extra funds on a nice meal or better room) but had no choice on this occasion since I was staying over a weekend. Most of the surrounding car parks are closed on weekends or do not allow multiple entry/exit. I have to say, its a nice little luxury just driving up to the door and handing your keys over. However at $40/day it certainly adds to the expense and not something I would do wherever I go!

Overall it's a reasonable hotel in a good CBD location for fly-in tourists but only just up to 4 star standards. Updating the  decor or at least bathrooms are hopefully being considered by management soon. 
I only stayed here because I had a "free night" deal but if I was paying the full price for my 2 night bill  ($650 with parking & no breakfast) I would have stayed elsewhere (most likely the Blackman which I have reviewed before). 

Personally, I had a pleasant stay but would probably not return. Melbourne has so much choice (& better value) with hotels now and I usually don't need to stay in the heart of the city as I usually come by car.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear AshNSW,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the good but also the opportunities to improve. It is pleasing to know that you found our location to be convenient for your needs and staff helpful. I am deeply sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the condition of the bathroom facility. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.