We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #60 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Dubai, Copenhagen, Vancouver properties Melbourne did not compare. For the gambler excellent position & rail traveller but when locals & cab drivers can't find their way, that is a problem. For self-driving overseas visitors move on! Concierge & staff very good. First rotating breakfast toaster that has worked. Lovely room but sadly our first & last visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear lolatraveller,

Thanks for the review, we were glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay especially the concierge team, breakfast and your room. Sorry to hear that the taxi company had trouble finding us.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    275
    114
    28
    14
See reviews for
75
174
46
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After staying at Crowne Plazas in Dubai, Hong Kong & Copenhagen, this property does not match up. For gamblers it is in an excellent location & for those seeing to be close to the main Station also a good choice. Otherwise, we will not visit again. The cab driver took us to the Casino entrance as he couldn't find Hotel entrance! Two local family members got lost picking us up & completely lost trying to drop us back at the Hotel & I know that any tourist driving a local hire car would give up.
Concierge were most helpful. Food in bar area was disappointing. Breakfast buffet was good & had one of the best pair of rotating toasters that worked! Bed, as is usual at Crowne Plaza properties, was very comfortable. Room had a lovely view over the Yarra River & a glass desk for writing, working,etc. There was NO cable TV which was disappointing also. All in all, the hotel suited our needs for a 2 night stay but in my estimation was lacking.

Room Tip: Pay extra $30 for a 'room with a view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When travelling to Melbourne for business, we normally stay at the Parkview in St Kilda Road. This time, as we were travelling with our 5 year old daughter, we thought we would stay at the Crowne Plaza, as it had a swimming pool, and close proximity to Southbank etc.

It had been several years since we had stayed at the Crowne Plaza, and our return trip was very disappointing.

We booked a room with king bed & rollaway (told we would be charged an additional $50 per night for rollaway, which seemed excessive, but we agreed to), as we were unable to book a single bed with king online.

Arriving at the hotel, checkin was fast and efficient, which was a great start. However, when we arrived in our room, there was no bed for our daughter. We called Reception, and were met with a grumpy response, and advised we never booked this. I advised that we had actually called the hotel to make the booking, and confirmed everything verbally, as we had been unable to book online. Begrudgingly, they advised that a rollaway bed would be sent up to the room, which it was within around 15 minutes, which was great. Reception then called to confirm that the rollaway bed had arrived, which we informed them it had, then they requested additional payment on top of the $242.50 per night we had already paid.

The hotel and rooms seem tired and dated, and looks as though nothing has been updated in the last 10 years that we have been staying there. Carpets were stained, windows dirty, bathrooms grotty with discoloured mould etc. Our beds were rock-hard, and very uncomfortable, and the rooms were quite noisy from street traffic below, so a bad night's sleep was had by all.

Onsite valet parking was $40 per day which we thought quite steep, but there is a 24hr public car park only a couple of hundred metres away, which only charged $13 per day for hotel guests, so we used this.

The swimming pool is also looking very tired, with grout missing and tiles dislodged and falling off, and also not heated to a temperature that would invite people to swim outdoors in Melbourne.

The only saving grace for the hotel was the Clarendon restaurant, which provided lovely breakfasts (special mention to the lovely Ann on the egg station - she provided the warmest service from any of the staff we encountered on our stay), and we also enjoyed a nice dinner there also.

Overall, the hotel is in a good location, close to Southbank, the Casino and public transport, but we felt it to be tired, and overpriced. It was worth a try, but we will be returning to our tried-and-trusted Parkview when we next return to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms provide a great view of Southbank, but are very noisy from street traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Newhinson,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are happy to read liked our location. However, we regret you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations and the service you received during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stay in this hotel often when I travel for work. It is comfortable, close to Crown Casino and Southern Cross train station. This hotel is good for business people and flight attendant but over priced for family holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caloundra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. Check in was fast and efficient and our room was ready very early. We were upgraded to a river view room which was lovely. The breakfast we had delivered to our room was delicious and reasonably priced. We had a couple of drinks in the lobby bar at happy hour and this was also good value. $5.50 beer and wine which is very cheap considering it is Melbourne after all! The reception staff are efficient and polite as well as the luggage porter. Fantastic location - close to the tram stop to go into the CBD and walking distance to the exhibition centre and DFO shopping outlet. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: river view rooms have a lovely outlook of the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

nice room, helpful concierge and front desk but.......we were there for a few business meetings combined with some sightseeing as it was my first time in Australia. The room was standard fare for Crowne Plaza anywhere in the world but the building itself is tired and rather dirty looking from the outside. This grubby impression is enhanced by the empty beer cans and bottles left by the revellers on their way back over the bridge each night which the Hotel really should take ownership of. Other contributors have alluded to the swanky looking reception area but the open plan nature of that and the bar area make the place feel really impersonal. Consequently we did not spend a cent in the bar or the restaurant and i know we were not the only customers who felt and acted this way. Most frustrating was being charged for internet access and the misleading claims about the hotel gym and pool. The pool is little more than a fishpond a genuine token which in 7 days i did not see used once. The gym is small, hot, poorly equipped with one shower and toilet cubicle. There is no sauna spa or any of the other little luxuries which normall make using a hotels facilities a pleasant experience. Overall expectations were set very high by the advertising and failed to deliver on many fronts.

Room Tip: avoid the significant road and reveller noise from the bridge by requesting a high room on the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear GaryL1964,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am grateful for the compliments on our hotel staff and rooms. We give the utmost importance to your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you encountered hotel facilities which was less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly for future upgrades.

Again, than you for your feedback and I hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here, over night as we were in Melbourne seeing a show. Everything about the hotel was wonderful. The staff were more then helpful, the concierge were outstanding. Our room was clean and tidy, as you would expect. We were in 5 min walking distance to the Crown Casine and South bank. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.