We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little over priced...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #60 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A little over priced...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stay in this hotel often when I travel for work. It is comfortable, close to Crown Casino and Southern Cross train station. This hotel is good for business people and flight attendant but over priced for family holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    287
    117
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
174
47
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
caloundra
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. Check in was fast and efficient and our room was ready very early. We were upgraded to a river view room which was lovely. The breakfast we had delivered to our room was delicious and reasonably priced. We had a couple of drinks in the lobby bar at happy hour and this was also good value. $5.50 beer and wine which is very cheap considering it is Melbourne after all! The reception staff are efficient and polite as well as the luggage porter. Fantastic location - close to the tram stop to go into the CBD and walking distance to the exhibition centre and DFO shopping outlet. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: river view rooms have a lovely outlook of the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

nice room, helpful concierge and front desk but.......we were there for a few business meetings combined with some sightseeing as it was my first time in Australia. The room was standard fare for Crowne Plaza anywhere in the world but the building itself is tired and rather dirty looking from the outside. This grubby impression is enhanced by the empty beer cans and bottles left by the revellers on their way back over the bridge each night which the Hotel really should take ownership of. Other contributors have alluded to the swanky looking reception area but the open plan nature of that and the bar area make the place feel really impersonal. Consequently we did not spend a cent in the bar or the restaurant and i know we were not the only customers who felt and acted this way. Most frustrating was being charged for internet access and the misleading claims about the hotel gym and pool. The pool is little more than a fishpond a genuine token which in 7 days i did not see used once. The gym is small, hot, poorly equipped with one shower and toilet cubicle. There is no sauna spa or any of the other little luxuries which normall make using a hotels facilities a pleasant experience. Overall expectations were set very high by the advertising and failed to deliver on many fronts.

Room Tip: avoid the significant road and reveller noise from the bridge by requesting a high room on the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear GaryL1964,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am grateful for the compliments on our hotel staff and rooms. We give the utmost importance to your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you encountered hotel facilities which was less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly for future upgrades.

Again, than you for your feedback and I hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here, over night as we were in Melbourne seeing a show. Everything about the hotel was wonderful. The staff were more then helpful, the concierge were outstanding. Our room was clean and tidy, as you would expect. We were in 5 min walking distance to the Crown Casine and South bank. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Each year my company books an Executive retreat at this hotel and whilst it may not be the flashiest accommodation, it's quiet and in a fantastic location. The rooms have the darkest curtains that block out all light and allow for an excellent nights sleep. The bathrooms are a bit outdated and could do with a refurb as the toilet seat looked a bit yuck although it wasn't dirty just well worn and old! The breakfast buffet is also fantastic but step out the door and you can enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view i.e. on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Booked a room on line to celebrate my wifes birthday. Cost of the room only was $400 including booking fee. I requested a room with a view only to turn up and get a room on 3rd floor facing inwards with no view at all.
The room was clean but small. I tried my luck at reception to see if my wife and I could be moved but were told the hotel was fully booked. I took the receptionists word given it was a busy weekend and did not push the point. I did how ever, go on line again 10 mins later to find that there were still rooms available!! I can only assume the receptionist meant no rooms with a view were left!!.
Not a great outcome given what I had requested and I doubt I will ever stay here or recommend this to colleagues ever again. :(

Room Tip: Check location of room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Rooboy12,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay as we always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced if our hotel was unable to honor your request due to varying circumstances. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for a night and would definitely come back. Check-in was seamless. Room service was good, efficient and surprisingly the food was good. Got a room overlooking the river and city, which was awesome... guest services are also good...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.