We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #74 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here for the weekend after christmas. Check in was quick and very friendly. Hotel was very clean and Fresh. The view from our room on the 9th floor was lovely! Bed was soft and comfy and the room and bathroom were very clean.

Best thing is the location, a 2 minute walk accross to the massive Crown complex, right near a million fabulous restaurants along the lovely southbank area. Also only a 5 minute walk in the other direction to the train station, where you can easily take a train to the best shopping in melbs at Melbourne Central. Or you can catch a train right to the MCG and watch an AFL game, or in our case a Cricket game.

Overall a very pleasant expierience at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne, we would most definitley stay here again when we come back if we can get a good rate as sometimes it can be a bit expensive for a nicer room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    397
    163
    39
    20
See reviews for
102
245
56
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times. Lovely rooms with comfortable beds. Buffet breakfast is great, broad selection and tasty food. Helpful staff and good facilities. Close to tram and casino. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The most positive part of our stay here was the location, 5 min walk to Crown Casino and 10 min to Flinders station. The rooms are so-so, and service 4.5 star. It had great views of the fire works on NYE, if you book the rooms with city views. Otherwise, there is no luxury comfort to talk about, nor are the staff super friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you PFirst123 for your feedback.

We have to agree with you that the location of Crowne Plaza Melbourne and the views of the City and Yarra River are terrific, especially on New Years Eve. We were however disappointed to read that on this occasion our service was not up to the standard we strive to deliver to all our guests.

Your feedback is very important for us, as it allows us too continually improve.

We hope to see you back in Melbourne and at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne very soon.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarina, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Good size rooms and kept very clean. Very nice breakfast and a quiet bar for drinks in the afternoon. Awesome location in heart of Melbourne, easy walk to Crown casino and South Bank where there are plenty of resturants to choose from and there is something for everyone and every budget,

Room Tip: Floor 2 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you Hootermoss for your recent review.

It was great to read that you had such a pleasant time here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We have recently updated our restaurant and bar menus, so we are very pleased that you enjoyed the food and beverage selections both at breakfast and in our bar. We also agree that Crowne Plaza Melbourne’s location is one of its key features.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.... Can not fault anything from the room, the food, the service, amenities available to use and the pool! Will definatly be back to stay when back in Melbourne.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent two days in the city to see the Christmas decorations, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were given a two room suite on the 10th floor which overlooked the Yarra and the casino. Excellent dinner in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was also very good. Would recommend the hotel. Quite expensive, but it is near the casino and docklands.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed over a very busy weekend in Melbourne and consequently the price we paid for the room was more than what you can normally get it for. That being said, the choice was a great one. We had a fantastic view of the Yarra and down towards the city. The room was very spacious and whilst not super fancy it was very clean and comfortable. They have a pillow menu which is appealing. The bathroom is quite small but that didn't bother me. You would find it a bit squeezy with two people in there. The breakfast was great, really varied and a dedicated egg station and a juicing machine to make your own freshly squeezed fruit or vegetable juice. The service was good and the location whilst on the edge of the city in some respects it is very accessible via tram or across to the Casino precint is a simple walk. I think the view the room had really made this hotel a stand out choice for a night out. I'd definitely come back if I got a good rate and could book a room with a similar aspect as the one we had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thankyou Traceyleigh for sharing your recent experience at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I was pleased that you made use of the pillow menu to make your stay more comfortable. It is also great to hear your positive feedback regarding the buffet breakfast at Clarendon Street grill. Anne the egg chef has developed quite a reputation in the hotel for making some of the best omelet's in Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza on your next trip to Melbourne

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
0.3 mi away
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
0.3 mi away
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.