We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in fantastic location!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #62 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in fantastic location!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.... Can not fault anything from the room, the food, the service, amenities available to use and the pool! Will definatly be back to stay when back in Melbourne.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    275
    113
    28
    14
See reviews for
75
173
46
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We spent two days in the city to see the Christmas decorations, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were given a two room suite on the 10th floor which overlooked the Yarra and the casino. Excellent dinner in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was also very good. Would recommend the hotel. Quite expensive, but it is near the casino and docklands.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed over a very busy weekend in Melbourne and consequently the price we paid for the room was more than what you can normally get it for. That being said, the choice was a great one. We had a fantastic view of the Yarra and down towards the city. The room was very spacious and whilst not super fancy it was very clean and comfortable. They have a pillow menu which is appealing. The bathroom is quite small but that didn't bother me. You would find it a bit squeezy with two people in there. The breakfast was great, really varied and a dedicated egg station and a juicing machine to make your own freshly squeezed fruit or vegetable juice. The service was good and the location whilst on the edge of the city in some respects it is very accessible via tram or across to the Casino precint is a simple walk. I think the view the room had really made this hotel a stand out choice for a night out. I'd definitely come back if I got a good rate and could book a room with a similar aspect as the one we had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thankyou Traceyleigh for sharing your recent experience at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I was pleased that you made use of the pillow menu to make your stay more comfortable. It is also great to hear your positive feedback regarding the buffet breakfast at Clarendon Street grill. Anne the egg chef has developed quite a reputation in the hotel for making some of the best omelet's in Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza on your next trip to Melbourne

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Crowne Plaza in Melbourne was a little more than I usually spend on an overnight stay in the city, but our options were limited so we went with it. And I believe it was worth every cent. I liked the design of the hotel itself, all circles and curves, with appealing flower arrangements and artwork.

Our room was huge and bright, with an enormous window and spectacular view over the Yarra River. Despite being right above a main road, and only three floors up, the room was quiet and traffic noise very muted.

Everything was clean, with all essentials provided.

The package we got included champagne and breakfast. Often in such a situation the freebie wine isn't great but this was really nice and very drinkable. The breakfast buffet, from which I had a good graze, was all excellent.

All staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful.

My only complaint was that the bed was a little on the hard side and didn't seem to have a pillow top. Not as comfy as I am used to.

I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowaramup, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Crowne Plaza in Melbourne and found the accommodation and the staff to be excellent. I arrived very early in the morning from interstate after last minute flight schedule changes. I had requested an early check in but as it was Melbourne Cup and the premises was booked out I really didnt expect to be able to get into a room so early (especially with out having to pay a half day rate at least) by 7am our 9 year old was falling asleep at the breakfast buffet, the staff found us a room and thankfully we were all able to get a few hours sleep and get on with our holiday! We were in a King standard room on the the 7th floor for the first 2 nights, this was fine with a great view, the rooms were impeccably clean ( credit must be given to the housekeeping staff, great job!) The room was nice but a little "tired" looking particularly the bathroom. Bed was super comfy and the blockout curtains are brilliant!! No light gets in at all in the mornings. We stayed in a suite on the last night which had alot more room and was also very clean. Consierge, front desk and breakfast staff were all helpful and friendly. Thankyou Crowne Plaza Melboourne, my husband and myself had a lovely stay and a memorable birthday celebration! We would definatley stay again.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a suite, larger room/bathroom and two tv's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The is a bit of an old hotel but it has a perfect location and the amenities as well as the rooms are up to date.
The staff here and wonderfully helpful and pleasant. The rooms are clean and very comfortable as you would expect from a Crown Plaza. The location on the Yara River is superb, and just across the road / river from the casino. There are plenty of great restaurants, cafes, and shops within short walking distance. For this who like a morning / anytime run, the hotel sits right next to the river and the running / walking / cycling paths are just foot steps away. furthermore, you can find Flinders Station (rail station) also a easy walk from the hotel.
yes, a perfect location and great staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel rooms in melbourne are notoriously expensive and in short supply. So this view is relative to other hotels in Australia and not hotels in Asia. Crowne Plaza is definitely a hotel targeted towards business travellers. While the rooms are average, the location is excellent. Right across the river from the south wharf, casino, restaurants and shopping (DFO outlets). The concierge is excellent and extremely helpful. Only if the staff behind the reception would have been more polite, I would have given the hotel an excellent rating. The staff looked bored and were kind of rude. The hotel has a lot of airline cabin crew staying there and the reception tends to get crowded. It would have been a more pleasant experience if the staff was more patient. Also, somehow Internet and breakfast was not included in the corporate rate and I found the Internet connection very expensive. So make sure you get an inclusive deal with the rate.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river and the casino and you get to see the fire show also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tgta,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay as Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were happy to read that overall you enjoyed a pleasant stay in the hotel.

While it was great to hear that the service you received from our concierge team was excellent, our responsibility is to ensure this high level of customer service is replicated consistently across all areas of the hotel. It was therefore disappointing to read that the reception team failed in delivering the expected level of service on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments will used as a training tool to help our team continue to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.