We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay, Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #65 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Cowaramup, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay, Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Crowne Plaza in Melbourne and found the accommodation and the staff to be excellent. I arrived very early in the morning from interstate after last minute flight schedule changes. I had requested an early check in but as it was Melbourne Cup and the premises was booked out I really didnt expect to be able to get into a room so early (especially with out having to pay a half day rate at least) by 7am our 9 year old was falling asleep at the breakfast buffet, the staff found us a room and thankfully we were all able to get a few hours sleep and get on with our holiday! We were in a King standard room on the the 7th floor for the first 2 nights, this was fine with a great view, the rooms were impeccably clean ( credit must be given to the housekeeping staff, great job!) The room was nice but a little "tired" looking particularly the bathroom. Bed was super comfy and the blockout curtains are brilliant!! No light gets in at all in the mornings. We stayed in a suite on the last night which had alot more room and was also very clean. Consierge, front desk and breakfast staff were all helpful and friendly. Thankyou Crowne Plaza Melboourne, my husband and myself had a lovely stay and a memorable birthday celebration! We would definatley stay again.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a suite, larger room/bathroom and two tv's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    275
    113
    28
    14
See reviews for
75
173
46
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The is a bit of an old hotel but it has a perfect location and the amenities as well as the rooms are up to date.
The staff here and wonderfully helpful and pleasant. The rooms are clean and very comfortable as you would expect from a Crown Plaza. The location on the Yara River is superb, and just across the road / river from the casino. There are plenty of great restaurants, cafes, and shops within short walking distance. For this who like a morning / anytime run, the hotel sits right next to the river and the running / walking / cycling paths are just foot steps away. furthermore, you can find Flinders Station (rail station) also a easy walk from the hotel.
yes, a perfect location and great staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel rooms in melbourne are notoriously expensive and in short supply. So this view is relative to other hotels in Australia and not hotels in Asia. Crowne Plaza is definitely a hotel targeted towards business travellers. While the rooms are average, the location is excellent. Right across the river from the south wharf, casino, restaurants and shopping (DFO outlets). The concierge is excellent and extremely helpful. Only if the staff behind the reception would have been more polite, I would have given the hotel an excellent rating. The staff looked bored and were kind of rude. The hotel has a lot of airline cabin crew staying there and the reception tends to get crowded. It would have been a more pleasant experience if the staff was more patient. Also, somehow Internet and breakfast was not included in the corporate rate and I found the Internet connection very expensive. So make sure you get an inclusive deal with the rate.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river and the casino and you get to see the fire show also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tgta,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay as Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were happy to read that overall you enjoyed a pleasant stay in the hotel.

While it was great to hear that the service you received from our concierge team was excellent, our responsibility is to ensure this high level of customer service is replicated consistently across all areas of the hotel. It was therefore disappointing to read that the reception team failed in delivering the expected level of service on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments will used as a training tool to help our team continue to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and have found this to be one of the friendliest and best hotels in Melbourne. The staff have been there for a long time, which is always a good sign. In particular Stan and Sam who are Concierge are the most wonderful guys who always greet me by name and are amazing service representatives of this Hotel chain. The rooms are spacious and have lovely outlooks. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast, although dinner is average. The Chinese restaurant is exceptionally good.

Room Tip: Try for a room close the the elevator as you can walk for miles if you are at the end of the corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was very happy to find my room was very quiet even though overlooking a busy street and a helipad as well as a lovely view of zthe Yarra River. The staff were pleasant and helpful but I had hardly any requests or needs. The continental breakfast buffet had a good selection of food and I returned on several days rather than trying other outside less expensive options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for the review Tas_traveller_26

We were happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us recently. We do agree that the view overlooking the Yarra River is lovely especially at this time of year with blue skies and the sun shining. It’s terrific to receive positive feedback regarding the breakfast offering as this is an area we have been focusing on recently by adding a wider variety of choices for both the full buffet and continental breakfast options.

We look forward to seeing you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our tour of Australia started here for a 3 night stay. As soon as we exited the cab & were greeted by Collin at the door we were off to a great start at this hotel! Check in/out were both quick & easy. Attention to details was great....asked which newspaper we preferred to be delivered each morning, told us that free wi-fi was available in the bar area and breakfast (included in the room rate) is downstairs. The room had a beautiful view of the Yarra River, had all the amenities you expect and the cleanliness was maintained throughout our stay without any interruptions to us. The breakfast staff were very friendly, polite & professional each day. Great selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, etc. and you can order eggs, from a chef centrally located in the dining room. Wonderful location that makes it easy to get to so many things like the tram, Southern Cross Station, shops & restaurants. Fabulous!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear TiffanyAlberta

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were pleased to read that you had such a fabulous time. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on the team members, especially Collin who does such a great job along with our other doormen greeting and welcoming guests to the hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Australia.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is a comfortable very well located hotel. My husband and I spent 2 nights here while we attended a conference. The room was clean and of a reasonable size. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were nice. The hotel is very close to Southbank and there is a tram stop outside from which you can access most parts of the CBD and beyond. Also, the fantastic South Wharf DFO outlets are only a 10 minute walk away under the Hilton South Wharf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Deb0910

Thanks for the positive review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our breakfast experience.

We agree that the location of Crowne Plaza Melbourne is one it’s best assets. With close proximity to the CBD, the restaurants and nightlife of Southbank as well as the shopping experience of DFO. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.