We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sensational Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 4 star hotel with a 5 star location and 6 star staff. Everyone, from the guys on the driveway, to the check in (upgrade provided, thank you!), concierge and restaurant staff were terrific.
I travel a lot and have stayed at many Crowne properties all over the world (Platinum Priority Club member) but this is absolutely the best.
Location couldn't be better, especially if you're visiting the exhibition centre. The rooms are true 4 star but only due to the limited amenities provided. But they are spotlessly clean, and smell "right"! Oh....and did I mention the staff? Sensational. Thanks guys (and girls), I'll be back.

Room Tip: Overlook the river if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thankyou Dennis C for your wonderful review.

We pride ourselves on the fantastic staff we have working throughout the hotel. I will ensure your positive feedback is passed on to all our frontline team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    253
    103
    27
    13
See reviews for
71
158
45
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Its an okay place to stay, good for a 1-night stay perhaps, or a business stay if youre in and out of town quickly. Location is pretty good, close to all the places we wanted to be by. Breakfast was fine, but at the end of the day its a hotel chain that feels like a hotel chain, and doesnt quite hit the mark for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner, our son and I stayed here for three nights and found it to be quite average. The pros: location was very good, room service was good, staff were pleasant. The cons: room was quite small especially with the rollaway, not very good value for money.
There were just little things that didn't quite hit the mark for us when we stayed here. The TV didn't work so we we had to move (this was annoying because we arrived quite late and our son was very tired), the mini bar wasn't stocked properly prior to our arrival from previous guests, there were questionable strwaberries at breakfast. It might sound petty but for the money we would have preffered to stay at the Crown Promenade where everything is spot on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thankyou Stella K for taking the time provide your valuable feedback.
We were disappointed to read that on this occasion the hotel didn't deliver the seamless Crowne Plaza service we strive to provide all our guests. Please be assured your feedback has been given to the relevant department heads. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza next time your in Melbourne

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We checked in to the Crowne Plaza for a weekend away late September 2012.

What Mum and I noticed immediately is that the staff at the hotel couldn't do more for you.

They were so accommodating; early check in, late checkout, great assistance with directions to nearby restaurants, they recommended Bybilos to us a fantastic Lebanese restaurant on the Yarra Wharf where we received 10% for mentioning the Crowne Plaza.

We also were very pleased that the lobby bar was able to put on Sydney NRL finals which weren't playing on Melbourne TV at the time.

Super accommodating staff, modern hotel, breakfast was so great; the waiter's even got some avocado for my mum when she requested it.

The location is also great with trams going either to or away from the city stopping right outside.

One night we had dessert in the restaurant downstairs which was also really nice.

Without a doubt we will be returning to the Crowne Plaza Melbourne.

Thank you Crowne Plaza!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are worth the extra, as is buffet breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thankyou Lkb93 for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I was pleased you enjoyed your time watching the footy in the Lobby Bar and having dessert at Clarendon Street Grill. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager.

Byblos is also one of our favorite restaurants along the Yarra river. Next time you are in Melbourne make sure you check with the concierge for some other great restaurant recommendations (and discounts.)

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia On Holidays
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is located near the train station, crown casino,the factory outlet stores and multiple restaurants. The rooms are average in size and furnishings.We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely and the service was excellent.
The pillows in the room were terrible but we should have taken advantage of the pillow menu that was offered.
Nice flat screen TV and huge in house movie selection that was not overpriced.
The hotel wanted to charge us $50 a night for a rollaway bed and when I complained they found a room with 2 double beds for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent a week here in a King Suite room, which has a separate bedroom and two bathrooms - no kitchen or microwave oven at all, though, which was disappointing. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean and serviced daily. A nice touch is the bowls of apples placed around the hotel - they make a great snack!
The hotel itself seems new and well-appointed. The gym is a bit small, but has a few cardio machines and a weight station so is adequate for most people. The hotel location is good - right on the river and near the Crown Casino complex and restaurants. It's only a 10 minute walk to a shopping area, train station, and a football ground, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Deluxe room was worth the extra.
Friendly staff with good service.
Location on the Yarra river was excellent.
Room overlooking the river is therefore a must !
Windows could do with a clean, but that is very small point to criticise the hotel for.
WIFI service worked well through the hotel.

Room Tip: View over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.