We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if on special deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #69 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Bellthorpe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value if on special deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel came up as our "Mystery Special" in a well-known Australian hotel booking web site. At less than half the hotel's own advertised price, and for no more than a seedy 2-3 star city place or something well out of the centre would charge, we got a top floor room with views across the city. Rooms were on the small side but cleverly designed with clean, modern fittings. Location is on the "corner" of the square Melbourne city layout with the free city circle tram route stop close by, so easy to get around. Breakfast in the restauarant is expnsive but you can get breakfast off a menu in the bar at typical city cafe prices which was good We didn't use any other facilities so cannot comment on them, but in the lobby and at the front door we were treated as at a flash hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    326
    134
    30
    15
See reviews for
81
199
52
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

stayed here for work at the end of June & was pleasantly surprised, the room was very well appointed & breakfast was sensational.
Great location right on the river & opposite Tacky Central (Crown) and we walked along to Southbank & there were plenty of choises for dinner.

I will stay here when Im in Melboune next.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hi RiB_1969,

You must be one of our loyal guests who remembers us when we were a Holiday Inn back before 2006!

Thanks for your comments. Hopefully you had the chance to sample one of Ann's omelettes at breakfast! She is well known for her creations!

We look forward to your return visit. Make sure you ask our Concierge Team about the range of new and exciting eateries along the river towards South Wharf if you haven't already!

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed 3 nights on business. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and made check in and out pain free and quick. The room (246) was not spacious but was well appointed and clean. Wireless internet in the room (free) also helpful if you need to keep working. There is also a fully equipped business centre on lobby level which you can access 24/7 with your room key and has full computer, fax & printing facilities. Gym was good (same access and level as business centre). I found the bed a little firm but otherwise OK. Noted previous comments regarding pillows which is strange as there is a pillow menu - so you can choose what pillow type you want. Don't know whether that is a new addition or not. Climate controlled air which you can set to your desired temp was also good. Bar downstairs was quiet and relaxing with very attentive staff - great to wind down after a busy day!
Strengths of the hotel are definitely the staff and the noise levels (quiet!) so if you're a light sleeper, this could be your place. The location is also convenient with the Casino a 2 minute walk and the middle of town about 10 minutes away. Morning strolls along the adjacent Yarra River are worth your time as well. If you're looking for absolute opulance in a hotel, you will be disappointed but if you're after a quiet, clean, no nonsense good standard hotel, you could do much worse.

Room Tip: Views are spectacular (especially at night) so if this is your thing, ask for a river/city view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for a great review Matnshaz!

We are really impressed with your well thought out and complimentary comments about your experience at Crowne Plaza Melbourne.

We just wanted to mention that our WiFi in the guest rooms isn't free, but it is definitely free in our Lobby Bar.
Our Business Centre also offers free internet access on the computers.

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you next time you are here for leisure or business.
P.S. Great tip about the booking River View room. We are in a great location to provide a beautiful cityscape - especially at night!

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at this fabulous hotel for a straight 65 weeks and couldn’t have been happier. All the staff are fantastic. During this time I got to stay in many different rooms – all the rooms were clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. Thank you housekeeping. The Chef always prepared my meals according to my preferences. Thank you Chef. For breakfast, I thoroughly recommend Ann’s omelettes. They are the best. The highlight of my breakfast was being warmly greeted as I sat at “my table” – being away from my family, didn’t seem so lonely. Reception and Concierge always warmly greeted me and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. It’s the little things that made the difference – the Birthday card, the Valentine Days card from my Reception girls, taking the time to have a chat with me. Even, Tran, the night cleaner would stop and say “Hello” as I wandered around the hotel late at night.
This is without a doubt the best hotel that I have ever stayed at.
Best of friends
Kevin Mc Carthy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed overnight early Feb 2012 for our 23 wedding anniversary..Couldn't have been more dissapointed for the $290 room we paid for..Bed was comfortable but pillows were like 2 large lumpy marshmellows that were utterly useles..Night was warm so aircon was on that whistled and made a high pitched noise all night untill we couldn't take it any longer and turned it off choosing to cope with the extreme heat rather than the aircon..Room was at rear to side - adjacent to an alleyway..We heard rubbish being dumped all night, people fighting and shouting in the alley and traffic noise..All in all we were lucky to have managed to have had any more than an hours sleep between us! Told all our friends to keep away from this Motel HELL !! Told management of our dissapointment who couldn't have cared less..Never,never , never again Crown Plaza !!!!

Room Tip: Don't book at rear side adjacent to alley- these rooms are not fit for human habitation !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear wayne m,

Thank you for posting your review across the weekend for your stay with us dating back some 4 months.

It goes without saying that we are disappointed that your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory.

We wanted to let you know that we take all feedback very seriously, and would welcome some more specific details from you to further assist us in our investigations. The noise that you describe is unusual, and we would like to ensure that other guests do not encounter the same.

Your feedback about the air conditioning does concern us, as we have a very sophisticated energy management system that controls and measures the temperature in any room at any given time.

Please contact our General Manager, Blair Roxborough on his email below, so that we can
ensure that we can improve of the aspects that you have mentioned.

blair.roxborough@ihg.com


Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just stayed one night. Wondeful view looking over Port Melbourne. Very quiet, no traffic noise and didnt hear any other people in adjoining rooms. We had two rooms, one was a suite which was a very unexpected upgrade, spacious, clean and adequate bathroom.
The other room was disappointing as the shower base appeared dirty howerver upon closer inspection it was just Badly scratched and they had used an unfortunate color in silicone around the plug area. We felt this room would only deserve 3 stars, very average.
Staff were adequate, needed to learn better skills at communication ( I checked in as I had dropped my husband off at the food and wine show with one if our adult children, she wasn't going to let me check in...im embarrassed to say she actually made me cry). Not a good start to what was going to be a relaxing night in a 4.5 star hotel.
Any way putting that aside the door staff were friendly, the bar staff we great, and the housekeeping were efficient....too efficient in our case as they entered our room unexpectedly at 9 am to clean...apologiesed very quickly and was out before I could identify anyone...from now on I'll put the latches on all the time. I found this quite bizarre as she actually opened the door as they knocked and said housekeeping...would have been uncomfortable if I was getting dressed.
Check out was quick and efficient and the desert in the bar was wonderful.
..would stay again for a quick visit but not my first choice...glad we were using some of our priority points as if I'd paid I would be feeling really ripped off now.

Management if you are reading this teach your staff to qualify your customers without interagating...there are many ways of working out what a relationship is with just a quick friendly conversation which will soon break down your customers barriers, relax them, make them feel welcome, and they are more likely to be able to appreciate that your are protecting your clients privacy and making sure its not an ex wife etc trying to sabotage a hotel visit. She did apologize, and I suspect the upgrade was as a result of the upset.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear RandJd,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne after your visit this month.

I am extremely disappointed that your experience wasn't entirely positive, and please accept my apologies for the interactions you had with our check in staff.
It certainly isn't our intention to upset our guests, and you are absolutely right that it was poorly handled.

I would like to discuss this further with you if you wouldn't mind contacting me directly, so that I can address this with my team.

My email address is blair.roxborough@ihg.com.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Blair Roxborough, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just spent 4 nites at the Crowne Plaza in Melbourne. Booked the room as a mystery room via wotif for $129 per nite. When we checked in and asked for a river view, we were advised we could upgrade for $30 per nite to a larger room with a king bed and river views. Having read a previous tripadvisor review re the not so great $129 rooms, we agreed to the upgrade and really enjoyed our stay. We had a brilliant panoramic view of the Yarra River from the 8th floor, with a wonderful front row seat to the nightly Casino gas fireballs shows. Toiletries were lovely. Nice teas and coffees including plunger coffee, drinking chocolate, fresh crisp apples every day, complimentary newspapers. Customer service was great - from reception to housekeeping to the concierges. And proximity to the free city circle trams, the casino complex, DFO, the Yarra promenade etc etc excellent. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Alunshirl,

We are so pleased that you were happy with your Mystery booking on Wotif!

It sounds like you had a really lovely time in Melbourne, and had some time to relax as well as explore the local attractions.

Thank you for your comments about our team. They will be very happy to hear that they contributed to making your stay an enjoyable one.

Hopefully you do come back and visit us again!

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.