We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne over Crown anyway. Lovely hotel Crowne Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #64 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
1,548 helpful votes 1,548 helpful votes
“Crowne over Crown anyway. Lovely hotel Crowne Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza hotel for 2 nights. It's a lovely hotel in a great location whilst at one edge of the city, it is very close to the Crown Casino, no association, on the river and the Docklands. The location is good, and it is a lovely walk to many of the restaurants and bars of the south bank - the CBD  of town is about 15-20 mins away, as is the Rod Laver tennis stadium and the MCG. You should definitely consider this hotel especially if you want to be down the Casino end of town. The rooms are large and, most importantly that great IHG pillow menu, so you have  a choice of pillows of varying firmness, style also feather/down, options.

This was a two night  Easter  trip and I was using a two for one night Priority Privilege voucher, this shouldn't be confused with the Priority  Club by IHG which is brilliant and free to join. Priority Privilege is sold at close to $300 PA as a separate program and whilst it all sounds good it really isn't, so don't fall for it.To be honest I probably didn't make the most of what the program  had to offer but it's over rated and not worth it.

But back to the Crowne Plaza, I suppose I mentioned the above as sometimes on these vouchers you don't expect the best rooms, But I don't know if it is because I'm a Priority Club Platinum member I was given a grand view river suite- the reception staff are lovely and very welcoming, they are efficient and helpful, giving me a map and some recommendations, and whilst I go to Melbourne a y and choose to stay in another IHG property close by. They did introduce me to some things i hadn't heard of before. If i didn't have a close friendship with the other hotel I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this one. 
The breakfasts are good and the rooms have everything you need, I was on an upper level, and had room service one evening late supper and it came quickly, well served and hot. They too have a good variety and many tasty, yummy and healthy options, and the right sweet treats.

Taxis are in abundance and a very close walk to trams and the city circle tram that takes you all around the city. The get on stop for the Tram Restaurant is also nearby. This is a lovely Hotel, maybe overshadowed by some grandeur and newer hotels very nearby, but if your looking for a friendlier settled in Hotel and if like me your a Priority Club member then this hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Upper levels river front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Vangeinternational,

What a very thorough and well thought out review!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne over Easter.
You certainly found your way around the city!

We are disappointed that you didn't find the Priority Privilege program worthwhile, however you are right about our Priority Club Rewards program - free to join, and no black out dates. Our members have access to a late checkout depending on availability, and a newspaper on weekdays. Points earned don't expire, so it is very worthwhile joining!

We want to thank you again for your comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed yourself here at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon next time you find yourself in Melbourne.

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    284
    117
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
174
47
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Business trip. Very clean, staff very friendly and helpful.
Located close to convention center, and Crown casino on the river - nice view
Rooms are not 21st century stile, but ok.
Food in the restaurant very good, had business dinner fish and steaks well coooked

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We arrived early in the morning on the overnight train from Sydney and asked if it would be possible to check in early. This was no problem and were even given a room upgrade. The room was good with views over the river and convention centre. Breakfast was excellent. We took advantage of the 30 minutes free wifi per day in the lobby area which was enough time to catch up on our emails. The hotel is in an excellent location for the free tram which we used to travel around the city. There are restaurants along the river although some are expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Good hotel if travelling for business. Comfortable bed and hot shower. Park in the Wilson's carpark for $14 rather than $35 for valet...it is only a 200 metre walk. Breakfast in the lobby bar for me was also a better option than the lower floor buffet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have stayed at the CP a couple of times now. Usually to attend Conference just across the river. It is well located for Conference centre, Casino, restaurants and a few blocks to some excellent shopping. The rooms are fine, some a bit smaller than others, nice ambience, bar and restaurant just off reception. All in all if the price suits your budget, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice hotel which is located right in the city centre with a waterfront view of the docklands that has tram access right outside the door. Staff are very friendly, food was great.

There are no power points next to the bed which I thought was rather odd considering most people have their mobiles charging with their alarm over night or would be on their laptops working while watching tv. Also half of the bed is in front of the tv and you can tell that is where guests generally sit as the other side of the bed was hard. Over all good experience to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Dont get one that is right on the edge of the building as the room is an odd shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Kutiel,

Your honest review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at our hotel is appreciated!

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, and our location allowed you the opportunity to explore our city.

Thank you also for your feedback about the powerpoints beside the bed. We are in the process of addressing this and the work will be completed in July 2012.

We do hope that you will return to Melbourne soon, and stay with us again.

Regards,
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza on the waterfront with my wife and got a Platinum Priority Club member upgrade to a riverfront king room. We were on a holiday break with just one work-related meeting in the city for me.

Yes this is a very good location; yes the lobby is very plush and impresses; yes the concierge desk and the rest of the staff are very helpful and friendly; yes the rooms are great and the CP really do have very comfortable beds and pillows but no, this isn't great value for a European with the currency exchange rate but then nothing is good value for a European in Australia at the moment. But the big bugbear, an old chestnut with me, is the internet access which is expensive at AUD$22 for 24 hours but which is choked at 300 MB download after which it reduces to crawling speed, which I didn't trust a skype call with. That's a bummer if you're trying to do business and after my download amount peaked, I was then charged a second 22 dollars during the same day. 66 dollars for internet over a 2-day visit. Maybe this is Australian culture about the internet which isn't generally available without paying and maybe this is because they don't cater for the business tourists in Australia but I felt really stung by this and when I'm next staying in Melbourne in a couple of months time I won't be staying at the CP.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms not only have better views but are more roomy because of the shape of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear HI---fan---Dub,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and services. I am sorry to hear you would not stay again because of the cost of internet. We find that our internet fees are very comparable to other hotels of this level in the area. If you do stay again and experience problems with the download speed, please let us know. We are happy to help.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.