We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, unfriendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #67 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The location is absolutely great. A 2 minutes walk will get you to a good choice of restaurants on the Yarra river side. The rooms are nicely furnished and equipped. The gym is a bit cramped and disappointing.

The staff at the reception can be a bit arrogant and unfriendly, though the concierge was very helpful, knowledgeable and customer oriented. Do not hesitate to ask him an advice.

Room Tip: If you are a Priority Club Platinum, you may not get an automatic upgrade even when there are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    317
    130
    28
    15
See reviews for
79
193
50
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Typical of a pricy hotel, perfect for business travel. 24 hour room service is good.

Room Tip: AC really works well, don't set it too low during the night :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

The guys at concierge were the most helpful ever! The hotel has great views, rooms are a bit small but nice.

All in all it was a good choice and was perfectly situated to allow easy access to the tram for Rod Laver Arena, restaurants, shopping & entertainment. My only complaint is that housekeeping never left enough towels or bath supplies for 2 people. I'd still stay there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel was a bit old, but very clean nonetheless. The beds were particularly comfortable, especially the duvet! I loved the fact that there was a hairdryer ready out on the counter for me, however, some might not appreciate that as it wasn't a very neat way to lay out a hairdryer.

Service-wise, my first impression wasn't very good because the man serving me at the counter wasn't as friendly as I'd like. Apart from that incident, the rest of the staff were very helpful and amiable.

I loved the location. I had a lovely view of the Yarra River and there was a tramstop right outside the hotel that could take me straight into the city and even Brunswick Street without having to jump off for transfers.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband, 2 children and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid January and loved the place. The location cannot be beat and the views are wonderful. We only had a 1st floor room but even the views from there were great. We were able to walk to all of the nearby attractions as well as only a few blocks and you are in the main shopping mall of Melbourne. We had a room with 2 double beds and it was modern and clean and spacious. We loved walking along Southbank trying to choose somewhere to eat - the choices were endless.

At 4pm each day happy hour starts in the downstairs lounge/bar so while my son and husband rested in our room, my daughter and i headed down there each day with our books for a quiet rest and a champagne for me and a soft drink for her. It was very relaxing and wonderful for a bit of people watching. We also had a quick bite to eat in here one evening and the food was lovely, a bit pricey but it was so tasty we soon forgot about the price. I saw a lady on the next table have the turkey burger and with the bowl of chips and side salad that was included for $19.95 this was a meal easily shared by two, it was enormous.

I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of the Australian open. Great position, close to trams and trains, the Casino complex, DFO and the central city. Had booked a suite on the top floor, but when we got to the room it was on the back of the hotel with no view and the room was quite small. We requested another room on the river side and were moved to a lovely room with views up the river towards the city. Rooms very clean. The staff were exemplary in their service. The restaurant, bar and room service food was very good.

Negatives are the couch was very uncomfortable and low, and the bathroom is very outdated with a shower with not much water pressure over a very narrow bath with a plastic shower curtain!!! Also the bed could do with replacing - although firm, it was on a definite uneven lean from one side to the other.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the 9th floor (the quiet floor) and our room had a fantastic view of the city and the Yarra. The breakfast buffet was great. Parking is at a parking station down the road from the hotel so be ready to drop your gear at the hotel and walk back to the hotel if you are driving. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.