We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #65 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at this nice hotel. There is an extensive staff in the lobby, and their service is outstanding. The location on the river and across the bridge to the South Bank Promenade is excellent. Also, we particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffett, especially the omelet station. Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear 22explorer22,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent Melbourne visit, and thank you also for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, and its close proximity to the attractions on the river.

Your comments will be passed onto the team, especially those on the breakfast shift!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Melbourne!

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    284
    117
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
174
47
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed one night recently (NYE) and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel. Location is excellent, and we were lucky enough to receive a room with a Yarra view to see the midnight fireworks. Check in/Check out fast and efficient, and the rooms, although smallish, were lovely and modern. The bathroom a little old, but quite sufficient for 4 star. Other than breakfast we didn't dine at the restaurant, but the offerings at breakfast were great and of excellent standard. I always love an omelet station and pancakes, and both were offered. The hotel was very busy, but dishes were cleared quickly and service was efficient. Happy hour at the bar was good value, and very busy there too. All in all, a good 4 star hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with Yarra River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Bali4eva,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor after you stayed with us at Crowne Plaza Melbourne on New Year's Eve.

It was lovely to receive your comments about our hotel, and we are pleased that you were happy with the service.

We did want to let you know that we have commenced planning for a bathroom renovation.

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne next time.

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

it was very hard adjusting to this hotel after coming from a night in crown towers. Im not sure if this is rated a 4 or 4 1/2 star hotel, but it definetley is a far cry from 5 star. The rooms were neat and simple, we had a view over the pool which was good cos we had hot weather, so we knew when people left the pool area, we would go down for a swim. The bathroom is a good size, but the bath is very small. the closet is also very narrow that it doesnt even fit the coathangers in properly.On each level in the elevator area there are lounge chairs situated at windows looking in 3 different directions. 1. the pool 2. the city 3. river/dfo area. We went up to the highest floor one night with a snack and a drink and sat overlooking the city for bout an hour, it was very relaxing.
Overall the room service is defenetly a must, the best part of the hotel. Very good quality food presented perfectly, and still piping hot when it arrived.

Room Tip: I would opt for a city view room if you are spending a lot of time in your hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a King River view room. Bed was very comfortable, our room overlooked the Casino, towels were good, shampoo and conditioner weren't very good though. Valet and check in went extremely smoothly. Happy hour (two hours actually) was great fun. Location location location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The first impression of this hotel was,"Where's the luxury hotel? Isn't this the car park?" Although one of the selling points of this hotel was that it was located right across the Melbourne Convention/Exhibition Centre and within walking distance to the centre, the hotel itself was a deep disappointment.

The approach to the hotel was up a narrow spiral road, the sort of drive one took looking for parking space in a multi-storey car park. Indeed I believed part of the circular building of this hotel was a big parking lot. The entrance to the hotel was all but grand. We arrived exhausted, around 11 pm. There was nobody helping to unload our luggage from our car or coming forward with the baggage trolley.

We paid nearly AUD400 for the room which was a high rate considering The Langham’s rate was just over AUD 400. We struggled with our luggage and checked-in, expecting a bit of luxury to off-set the poor initial impression.

We couldn’t be more disappointed. We were directed up a flight of escalators over tired-looking carpets and through an unglamourous steel bridgelike passageway into the lift lobby. We struggled to get a glimpse of the lights along the beautiful Yarra River but the otherwise panoramic view was nearly completely blocked by a huge utilities room right in the centre of the circular glass facade!

The corridor from the lifts to our room was equally depressing and foreboding. Our room was basic with absolutely no view. The window was nearly completely blocked by a huge concrete wall. The decor was standard 3-star quality. The room was so dusty I could draw on the dust. I had to wash all the cups and saucers before I could use them. Carpet had hair balls. The bathroom door could not close and the knobs came loose. The towel hooks were loose too. One of the curtains was jammed in its tracks and could not be closed fully.

I enquired at the reception if this was a 3 or 5 star hotel and was again told it was “5-star”.
The staff did not come across as being that friendly. Once, I could not get down to the restaurant for my breakfast until 10 am and was turned away saying the restaurant was closed although food was still displayed and there were guests still helping themselves to the food. The following morning I got into the restaurant before 10 am and noted guests were still sauntering in after 10.00 am and the trays of food were not removed even after 10.30 am!

I would have imagined chambermaids would be expected to wash used cups as part of their cleaning duties but no, every evening I had to wash my coffee and tea cups which were left unwashed by the sink. Pyjamas left on the bed was randomly thrown onto the side tables in a bunch, let alone folded.

If I had booked into this hotel knowing it was a 3-star hotel I would not be so disgusted. Then again, I would not pay that kind of rate. A group of my friends stayed at the Pensione Hotel, a stone’s throw away and paid AUD 130 a night . The rooms were tiny but spotlessly clean, giving great value for money.

The overall impression was total disappointment and shock tinged with a sense of having been “cheated”. Altogether a distasteful, depressing stay at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Remember to get river view or else risk facing concrete wall. Good idea to tell reception that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear GeeJee,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor after your visit to Crowne Plaza Melbourne in November 2011.

We were very disappointed to read that you were so dissatisfied with your stay.
It is a pity that you were not greeted on your arrival, and we will be addressing this with our team, as this is certainly not reflective of our usual arrival experience. We are also in the planning stages of an upgrade to the look and feel of the public areas of the hotel.

The housekeeping and maintenance issues you raise, will be addressed, and please be assured that this is definitely not in keeping with the Crowne Plaza brand.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 4.5 star hotel, and we apologise if you were under the impression that we are a 5 star hotel. We will be sure to remind our team members of this.

Although we do not know the exact dates of your stay, Melbourne hotels were extremely busy in November, as the President's Cup golf tournament was being held here, as well as a number of large conferences.

Breakfast in our restaurant is served until 10.30am on Monday through to Saturday, and until 11am on Sunday. We have noted with the Food & Beverage team that all guests should be able to arrive at the restaurant for breakfast up until the time that the buffet is closed down for the morning.

Please accept our apologies for the issues that you have raised, and we will work hard to ensure that we do not leave this impression with any other guests.

Thank you again for your comments, as they will invariably assist us with ongoing training and improvement of our team’s customer service.

If you would like to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate to email us on rachael.miller@ihg.com


Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Centrally located to great eating and shopping in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

Good hotel and great rooom.
Very good location for Southbank.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.