We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for Melbourne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great base for Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just spent six great nights at this hotel. The staff were lovely and very welcoming. Special mention to Anastasia for her always charming hello when leaving or entering. Our silver wedding anniversary was remembered by a lovely touch, a chilled complimentary bottle of bubbly. Thank you so much!

Melbourne is great. The hotel is in a great central position to explore. Immigration museum is two minutes away. Old Melbourne Gaol on Russell street is a must. My wife Noreen even got picked to play ' Ma Kelly' in the two person play about Ned Kelly's life and death, a fantastic show and well done to the theater group for this informative and entertaining historical and relevant story that still enthralls after some 130 years. The war remembrance museum was both sombre and poignant. It celebrated the memory of the ultimate sacrifice made by so many from Australia and New Zealand. An outstanding place of reconciliation which has got it right regarding atmosphere and pride.

We loved the authentic and ultra reasonably priced Indian / Pakistani restaurant on King Street, ' Delhi Rocks'. Great food and this from a Glaswegian who knows about Indian food. Young Mr Khan was a perfect host and was a pleasure to talk with.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive and comments about our hotel.

I agree our location is great here in the CBD of Melbourne. With trams at the door and walking distance to so many attractions we often receive this feedback. We also pride ourselves on providing friendly personable service and thrilled you found the team here very welcoming. Our Service is real and our people are encouraged to be themselves, which is what our guests expect in Holiday Inn.

Thanks once again for your feedback and we hope you visit us again soon one day.

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    280
    98
    20
    6
See reviews for
62
148
60
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for an easy walk to Spencer St and Flinders St stations, Southwharf DFO and the riverbank precinct.
Our room was basic but very clean though it had quite a musty smell to it. Turned out the airconditioner had leaked and the carpet was a little damp in a small area. I did also think the pillow had an odd smell which was very off putting. The bathroom was extremely tired and overdue for an upgrade. The redeeming factor for the hotel is its staff, all of which were friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I sincerely appreciate your time and care in doing so.

Our location in the CBD is fantastic and I note you really enjoyed this as a great feature of our hotel. We receive a lot of feedback regarding the close proximity to the railway stations, being in the centre of the CBD and only 2 minutes’ walk to Southern Cross Station also.

I would like to apologise for the air-conditioner that leaked water onto the carpet. Our Maintenance Team have advised me that the actuator in the air conditioning unit will cause this and will need replacing. I am grateful for all your feedback and thank you for making a special mention too regarding the friendly staff here. I am always extremely proud of our team here and how specifically how friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating they are.

Kind regards,

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijfhuizen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in Nov 2013.
The first thing that we were very pleased with was the welcome by the staff relaxed, helpfull and efficiënt.
The hotel providers valet parking on site quick no hassle.
The room had an early one full size glas wall the room well equipt and good size.
Beds top.
Good bathroom everything is there.
The bar is very nice location, bartenders friendly
Breakfast very elaborate and again the view from the restaurant is Nice.
The only disturbing issue is the slamming doors, basically down to fellow guests unfotunatly not all guests take that into consideration.
So perhaps door dampers might be considered.
Overall a very pleasantly stay right in the hart of the action.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders.

It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback about the staff and our products too. I note you mentioned the doors slamming by other people presumably in their rooms. I (upon receiving your feedback) have a programme in place for our Maintenance Team to test the closing or “hush” mechanism on our doors so this does not impact other guests in our hotel.

We have made recent improvements to our breakfast buffet and I am thrilled you found this great. Our Head Chef Scott Horn is very particular about not only serving great fresh food – but also that it looks so good you could eat with your eyes.

Thanks for your wonderful feedback once again and we hope you visit us again soon.


Garry Beadel

Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for Cup week as the location is superb and priced well. It's right near Spencer St station and CBD. It's an easy place to get to / from. Check in was really efficient and the staff really helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is good and not over crowded. An efficient quick breakfast can be grabbed and it'll stock up every type of person.

Internet use is expensive in room but free in the lobby.

My room was on the 8th floor (away from road noise) and "ok". I know what I'm in for at Holiday Inn (value, location, not 5 star) but I was surprised at the condition of the room - I mean cleanliness.

The Bathroom is tired and the toilet was pretty gross. I was looking for a power plug near the bed and had to slightly move the side table for access to it - yuk...pretty awful dust build up on all the fittings. Sadly housekeeping left some of their cleaning fluids in my room - mistakes sometimes happen - I'm pleased that they use them.

I dare say this is a really busy property and if the room was cleaned well, I would have been totally happy! Maybe the rooms are due for an upgrade?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear zoomer-7,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. If you have future concerns, please let the Duty Manager know so an alternate room could be offered if available.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I usually stay here when I am in Melbourne, the restaurant and cafe in the hotel are very good and priced nice. There are also a lot of food choices right around the hotel, with a super market and train station within walking distance. Nice sightseeing by the river and short walking distance to the casino.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on not on the street side, it may be a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Biz G,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear from a returning guest and we are glad that you choose to stay with us on your trips to Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back again upon your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well back to the Holiday Inn on Flinders once again. Checkin was not as good as usual, however this may not necessarily be the fault of the hotel, considering that the travel agent that my company uses did not bother to pass through my IHG Rewards number.

Having said that, I did receive a call to my room after the checkin process by Hayley to ensure that all was good and apologise for not recognising my status. That gesture was appreciated, and soon after a knock at the door, and who should be there but Hayley, with a bottle of water and a small package of chocolates. Not necessary, but very thoughtful and yes the little things do make a difference.

The room I was given is very near the lift, which is a location I do not particularly like, however I chose not to change, although it was offered. The room is larger than normal, so that is a good thing. It also has a view of the street which is nicer than others I have had in the past.

Housekeeping needs to get more on the ball. I ordered pizza delivery on the first night, yet when I checked out 3 days later the empty boxes and scraps were still in the room, so it appears that either housekeeping did not see them, or could not be bothered. This was pretty disappointing and should not have happened.

Overall the stay was not too bad. Average I guess is probably the best description. Let's see how they shape up next time I am in Melbourne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear treborgb,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. However, I apologize that the service you have received fell below your expectations. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked here as it was 5-10 mins walk from Melbourne Convention Centre and much cheaper than Hilton, Crowne Plaza or Crown. Room fairly basic, bathroom tired but functional. Splash pool not long enough for reasonable swimming exercise but nice to have it. Breakfasts very good. I paid for package with breakfasts & wifi included in price rather than paying for them separately. Still averaged at AU$250/night with breakfast & wifi so not cheap.
Staff friendly & efficient without being over the top. Unusually poor bedmaking service but perhaps I did not read the writing properly? Did not try restaurant for dinner, nor did I try the evening bar.
I think this really should be 3.5 stars rather than 3 but they won't let me give half stars!
A handy alternative to other accommodation for convention centre, as long as weather is ok and not raining as your walk will be exposed for much of the walk to the elements. I did find a covered walkway through the world trade centre but would still get wet crossing the bridge to the convention centre.

Room Tip: don't know if I can help here. I was on 7th floor looking over Flinders Lane, no view except for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear fabsnake,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the room conditions. Your comments are highly appreciated as this allows us to make your future stays much more comfortable.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.