We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #67 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Value for money - enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had four nights in a corner suite (6th floor) - although the view was only up and down Spencer Street we enjoyed the view from the floor to ceiling windows. The trains (and traffic to a lesser extent) were noisy at night but did not keep us awake. Staff were brilliant - friendly, helpful and obliging. Like many hotels breakfast is expensive A$29.50 per head but the buffet was extensive - even had honeycomb one morning!! They have an "egg chef" in a corner of the dining room which is a nice touch. Dinner was well presented and we were well looked after. Internet - free W- Fi in the lobby worked well and staff helpful in sorting any connection issues. Worst feature - shower over bath (both bath and basin could do with replacement).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear John S

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the views offered by our floor to ceiling window’s, they are a feature of every room in the hotel, and the corner suites especially offer a typically Melbourne view. Thank you for mentioning our staff, they are what make our hotel special and always appreciate great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    259
    89
    20
    6
See reviews for
59
135
54
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at end of Aug 2013 for a conference meet at the nearby Melbourne Convention centre(convenient 10-15 min walk). Clean rooms of standard size. Breakfast OK but boring after the 3rd morning. Location is a good 1+ km walk from Chinatown or flinders station or southgate after 6pm when the free tram service ends. Very few good dinner options(except fast foods or at hotel) nearby, in fact a very quiet southwest corner of CBD. Southern cross station 300m away and skybus station is a convenient 500m even with 2 big luggage bags still walkable, so you safe at least 20 aussie dollar for 2 with skybus compared to by cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear humanH1N1

Thank you for your review on our hotel. I am glad that you found the rooms to be nice and clean and of a good size. Our breakfast buffet is an area that we are constantly looking to improve and I would love to hear your suggestions on what you would like us to add on to the buffet for more variety, please email me directly at simon.carter@ihg.com if you would like. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated close to the football ground, casino, dfo and a short walk up to the main shopping mall.
Great lounge to sit with friends for a drink or dining in the restaurant . The staff are very helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kerrie j J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the location and friendly service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff were all really lovely. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast offered a lot of variety. Easy walk to CBD and surrounding areas. We felt very welcome as a couple with two small children.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders and Melbourne too. We receive a lot fo feedback about this hotel being child friendly and pleased your family felt very welcomed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Melbourne again soon.

Thanks for the feedback

Kind regards

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet rooms, staff always eager to assist and good food at the Holiday Inn.

A nice touch offering a wide range of complimentary toiletries in case you forget something.

Good location for conferences or events at the convention centre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Raquellish

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you found our hotel to be nice and quiet and enjoyed the food and service we had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The staff on reception and bar are very responsive and helpful.

Even though it is on a busy corner, the rooms are clean and quiet.

The price is modest and a good find for the budget traveller looking for something in the city.
Well situated for Spencer St Railway Station, Ethiad Stadium and Crown Casino.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom needs a refresh.
I'm not crazy about shower curtains or stained grout.

Room Tip: Get a Holiday Inn Loyalty Card, which may entitle you to an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sujo-a-GoGo

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you found good value at our hotel and received great service from our reception and bar team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel will never be ranked as outstanding but it is well-serviced and clean. Bathrooms are showing their age and are quite small. I have never had a room here with a separate shower. Beds are comfortable with a good choice of soft or firm pillows. Front desk is always helpful and never seems to be short of people. Good selection of free morning newspapers. Desk and over-bed lighting is excellent. Have only eaten in the hotel once or twice but the food is not too bad. II keep going back because it is good value for money in a city where hotel prices have really rocketed up. Also by being on the edge of the CBD it forces me to walk! Nowhere in the CBD would be more than 30 mnutes by foot.

Room Tip: The rooms on Spencer St have a lot of traffic noise, epsecially from trams. Ask for a room on Flind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear DeeKayAdelaide

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you found a good deal, and received great service from our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.