We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a couple of days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #60 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Good location for a couple of days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The rooms are on the small side, with little space to put a suitcase, but the location makes up for it. Easy walking to the casino, tourist tram, Collins Street, bars, etc. etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. After a lot of research, this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear DeniseandBrent

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders and appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We have numerous room sizes available at the hotel and perhaps next time you might like to try one of our Superior King Suites which offer a separate bedroom and living area and is more spacious than our other rooms. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and took advantage of our great location. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    238
    76
    19
    5
See reviews for
52
126
52
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We didn't realised the day we arrived was the day of The Lions and Wallabies match - 29 June, clearly we aren't rugby fans! We arrived earlier than the check-in time but with the wonderful help from the reception, we were able to check in slightly earlier which was fantastic after travelling from a 8.5hr flight! It was a very busy night everywhere but the hotel staffs didn't fail to smile, greet and still continue serving us even though the hotel was massive packed and they must be very tired. All the Receptionist were friendly and very informative. We enquire for directions and they are able to direct us. Rooms are clean but needs refurbishment as it's abit old and the flushing system don't work too well. Location of the hotel is good as it is in the city area near the Etihad stadium as well as Harbourtown. Easy access to alot of places. Value for money for those who are not looking for posh hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Farina2202

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review of the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was an extremely busy period. At Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders we always try to accommodate all of our early arrivals where possible, and are glad we could help you out. Thank you for mentioning our staff as they pride themselves on their friendliness and knowledge of the surrounding areas, and enjoy receiving guest feedback. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms and will be addressing the issues you have mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

stayed here for second lions test, staff gr8 but ran out of beer on match day despite the fact we pre warned them before hand.stayed in many holiday inns but this one has to be the least organised.location great,i would recommend this hotel as I don't think they have had so many thirsty people there at once.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Michael T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. The Lions weekend was a very busy period for us, and unfortunately after a lot of preparation, we were still caught short on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback , and are glad that you enjoyed the service that our friendly team offered and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After two really bad experiences with the chain in Texas and Louisiana i swore I would never stay at a Holiday Inn again.
However after reading a few good reviews and getting a special deal thought i would give it another go.
The whole experience at this hotel was great.
Early check in
Good Food
Room service good
Counter staff excellent

The bathroom is a bit dated and the gym small but all fine.

If i had to make a suggestion for improvement it would be for the waiting staff in the restaurant. They were if anything too attentive checking all was ok all the time. I don't think the three of them communicated who was looking after which tables. (this is really picky though) The food was excellent. Highly recommend the seafood paella

So yes i will be back to this hotel other Holiday Inn I am not sure yet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear PHB75

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel, it is great to hear that you have given our brand another opportunity to impress and I am glad that we were able to change your perception. It looks like you were able to try many aspects of the hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed the food and service we offered. I appreciate your feedback regarding our wait staff in the restaurant and I will pass that on to the restaurant manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights at end of June. Our room was so small, there was only room for one small bedside table beside the bed. Described as having a large desk area - this turned out to be a table at the end of the bed which was almost impossible to pass, all for a hugely increased charge, raised considerably because of the Lions Tour.The response from the hotel has been to say the room is as described and price increase (100% increase) is because of the tour. Basically tough we can charge what we like. We stayed at the Sheraton in Sydney, for the same price, during the Lions weekend, where we had a superb room and excellent service, they obviously didn't feel the need to exploit tourists during this period.
This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and definitely not a 4* property.
The trip was made to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary and thankfully all the other hotels we stayed at were superb for the same budget.
Some sensitivity from the operations manager, would have helped in his response to our comments.

Room Tip: Try another hotel, many to choose from that are better value. We had a 100% increase in the room co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Verrcr

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and the price of the hotel. Unfortunately high demand periods like the British and Irish Lions rugby tour do result in an increase in prices in the market. I am glad to hear through our prior communications that you enjoyed the high quality of service provided by our team.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The thing with changes is usually know what you're going to get with them - they're not usually outstanding or too terrible.

However, the sincerely warm and friendly service here is really something else. I arrived at 8.30am and was mostly expecting to be invited to wait 5 or so hours for my room to be ready... but no, these guys pulled out the stops and found me a room that I could have straight away. Great!

Sadly, I'm a ridiculously light sleeper and the room faced the street. I hate being a nuisance but when I called down to Becky on front desk... not a problem... in fact she even came up and helped me move! All of that with a genuine smile and great service.

My second room faced the internal courtyard over the pool and was absolutely perfect for me. The location is awesome with Southern Cross Station a stone's throw and Flinders Street Station a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear algray

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I am glad that we were able to impress you with our service. Becky will appreciate the personal mention and I’m glad we were able to ensure you had a good night sleep.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Booked in for two nights at the holiday inn, great little hotel with tram lines within a stone throw, i arrived slightly early, and was checked in seamlessly by one of the duty managers - becky - she was bright bubbly and easy to deal with, the room had all the standard amenities, and i had a good nights rest, very clean, breakfast was good quality however i did not try the room service or the lunch/dinner - would i stay again?. yes,
good staff members throughout and always met with a smile, which i think goes a long way,

thanks for the great stay,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear HughMiron

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback and share it with the team. Becky will appreciate the personal mention and I am glad you found all staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Melbourne
Melbourne Holiday Inn
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.