We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to get a little tied.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #60 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Starting to get a little tied.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for about 6 years and while it is in a fantastic location for transport and access to football grounds (Etihad and MCG) I don't think much has been spent on updating the rooms. The staff are always friendly and helpfull and the dinner and lunch Ala carte menu at the resturant is good the breakfast is a bit ordinary and not worth what they charge. You would be advised to skip breakfast and head downtown to a laneway cafe, far better food and and cheaper.
The rooms are always clean and tidy but have not been updated for quite a while with the exception of a flatscreen TV. The rooms and bathrooms desperatly need some dollars spent on them and some new towels in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Go down to a laneway cafe for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Swannie 47

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the location and friendly service from our staff. We are currently reviewing options for updating the bedrooms and bathrooms and hope to see a change in these areas shortly. We have recently ordered new linen for the entire hotel which should be implemented within the next month. Thank you for nice comments regarding our lunch and dinner offerings, and I hope you see improvements in the breakfast offerings as we have been focusing on this meal period and making many changes including the addition of an egg chef and egg station.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    238
    77
    19
    5
See reviews for
52
126
52
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Reasonable rooms but a bit tired. Vanity basin was cracked, paint peeling off some of the doors, but clean and tidy. Breakfast OK. Standard motel fare. Location is central to most areas of the CBD. Off street parking available for a fee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Bootsjjs

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback.
We are sorry you had a less than perfect experience with your room and we are currently addressing the issues that you have mentioned

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at this property for 2 nights last week. Very impressed. From the moment I arrived and was greeted by Amanda on the front desk through until check out my experience was nothing short of excellent. Perhaps it was the upgrade, courtesy of Platinum PriorityClubRewards membership, but I don't think so. From my observation all of the guests were treated in a similar manner, but perhaps not everyone got upgraded. I was also impressed by Scott the breakfast chef. Armed with an infectious smile and a great attitude Scott made the breakfast experience very enjoyable. Who'dve thought watching a chef cook eggs would provide a such great start to the day. I must also pay credit to Kristy from the Old Sydney Holiday Inn who recommended I try Holiday inn Melbourne on Flinders. I'll be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Mark C

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback and share it with the team, Amanda and Scott both have a passion for service and will appreciate the personal mention. I am very happy that the egg station is adding another dimension to our offerings, as it is a new addition to this hotel and it is great that guests are enjoying the extra service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed at the Holiday Inn on Flinders and was pleasantly surprised. I found the rooms were a very good size and contained a writing desk, king size bed, excellent lighting and full size bathroom and bath. The airconditioning was also very effective. Breakfast was included and although not the variety of many other buffets, the selection was, nevertheless, very good.

Location of the hotel is opposite Southern Cross station and the tram and free city circle tram are only 50 meters away. Southbank and Crown Casino are just a short 5 minute walk across the Yarra river, so there is plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Navy35

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised by all that our hotel and rooms have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Its a pleasant hotel, in typical Holiday Inn colours, decor etc - its centrally located, and within walking disance of the offices in Docklands and the Central Business District....

The breakfast buffet has a decent spread and is a good option to include in the booking, at least works for me !

Quite a few restaurants close by,and a nice one called Sirocco, inside the hotel - room service is decent as well, with a few things available around the clock for folks with erratic schedules :)

In all a nice warm Holiday Inn experience !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear VVTRIP

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you received a nice warm Holiday Inn Experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and nice breakfast really good. Close to everything found service desk staff a bit hard to deal with. Doesn't hurt to smile Dave! Definitely worth the stay good value under $200 deals change overnight so keep checking and don't lock in package

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Darren W,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the room and breakfast . I am sorry that you had a less than perfect experience with the front desk team and we have addressed this with the staff member concerned.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Melbourne
Melbourne Holiday Inn
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.