We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #69 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We arrived in Melbourne airport and then took the Skybus to the Southern Cross Rail station. We walked about 8 minutes to the hotel with our suitcases though there is a hotel shuttle that could have taken us. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. It is located near the train station, near the tram stop and some good restaurants. However the onsite restaurant was subpar and the wait staff seemed disinterested in taking care of our basic needs of water and silverware. The hotel is also on the list for tour stops so once we booked our tour the coach came right to the front door to pick us up and drop us off.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear grammybrown,

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders when you visited Melbourne recently.

It is great to hear that our guests are taking advantage of our proximity to the many transport options available. The skybus from the airport is a big money saver, as is the free City Circle Tram!

Please accept our apologies for your experience in our restaurant. This is great feedback for us to work on those basic service elements.

Hopefully on your next visit, you will give our Sirocco Restaurant another chance!

For other restaurant options, the South Wharf area located nearby has some new eateries offering modern cuisine overlooking the river.

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    268
    92
    20
    6
See reviews for
61
139
58
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Staying 2 nights before moving to friend's house. Good location, nearby tram stop.
Room is mall but clean & nice.
Restaurant is quite slow. We have to wait for 45 min before our food finally arrive.
Bed is confortable though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Great postion close to Casino, Trams & good restuarants, hotel rooms due for upgrade but clean and good size.
Hotel staff very good, lady chef on duty at breakfast over Easter weekend deserves a special mention .
Will return one day and stay longer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here with my Fiancée in January 2012 and really liked the hotel. The location is great in relation to transfers. We simply flew into melbourne, caught the skybus to the city ($17) and then we walked to the hotel (about a 5-10 minute walk).

The bed was super comfy and the room had good air conditioning and blinds making sure we got a good night sleep.

More expensive then some hotels that are similar and include breakfast. However it is just near Krispy Kremes and several coffee shops which made for a good breakfast.

Good location if you need to go to Southport, Crown Casino or the DFO's (outlet shopping). You can walk out of the hotel and you are near the the free city circle tram.

Can't say anything bad about the hotel. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Mitch D,

Thank you for your honest and informative review of our hotel.

We are pleased that our location was convenient and that you found it easy to get around the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders next time you find yourself in Melbourne! Hopefully you joined Priority Club Rewards Program!

Regards,
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

1) Not very friendly front desk staff. Acknowledge that I am a gold priority club member but still put me on a floor just above street level even I requested for a higher floor.

2) Returned my laundry to another guest room and even insist that they had send it to my room. Only they managed to do some tracing and managed to locate my lost laundry.

3) Expensive internet connection. The whole day charges for internet is only for 1 single laptop use. When I log off internet connection my laptop after usage and tried using it for my ipad, I need to pay a separate charges again ???

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Andrew T,

We appreciate your comments about your less than satisfactory stay at the Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders.

You can be assured that this is not indicative of our usual service standards at Holiday Inn.

We apologise that you were not allocated a room on a high floor on this occasion. We have noted this request in your guest profile for future stays, subject to availability .

Thank you for your feedback also regarding the internet charges. We understand your point of view and want to let you know that our internet provider, which is the same for most Melbourne hotels, has set terms and conditions whereby each internet accessible device is charged separately.

Hopefully you choose us on your next visit to Melbourne so that we can leave you with a much better impression!

Regards,

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Victoria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn on Flinders for a Business trip, great accommodation and fantastic buffet breakfast, hopefully I will get the opportunity for a return trip. Excellent location for walking access to good venues.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel may look bland from outside but it is nicely appointed, good size rooms, comfortable beds and a pleasant stay to be had.

Room service, housekeeping and general staff interaction was good, obliging and focused on making things easy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.