We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely refurbished. Great for the train.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #69 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Warrnambool, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nicely refurbished. Great for the train.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

It's a fairly old building but only the bathtub is a giveaway. Rooms are a good size. King bed. Neat desk with proper office chair and easy access power points. Only stayed one night and didn't eat there. Very handy to Southern Cross station and tram routes.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    270
    94
    20
    6
See reviews for
61
140
58
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My partner and I arrived for just a overnight stay, when we arrived we used the hotel parking, your car is parked up for you while you book in,parking cost A$35 a day, a bit much I think, check in was quick and plesent, we were also lucky to get a upgrade, the rooms were clean with plenty of space,the mini bar was well stocked, but once again didn't use it as things are just way too expencive, the bathrooms need a upgrade, and i just don't get the small baths in hotels, my one big gripe would be that you had to pay for the internet in your rooms, but here's a tip pop down the buisness centre and it's free, we didn't have brakefast so can't comment.
All in all a plesent stay and I would stay here again, it's in a great place for visiting Melbourne city center both tourist areas and shopping and just a short tram ride away from the mcc and not too far from Albert park, other sports grounds and ice skating is within walking distance , the casino is also just a short walk away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The staff and their customer service are certainly the best feature of this hotel, and helps outweigh shortcomings in other areas. I stayed in room 425 for 3 nights. This room overlooked the pool, and was reasonably spacious. However, the bathroom was only fair, and the tile grouting looked dirty, although I could see attempts (poor) had been made to fill in certain areas. An interesting feature of the shower, which was in the bath was the curved shower-curtain rail, which gave you a little more room to move and prevented the cutrain from sticking to you. One serious problem that needs to be addressed, for people like me as I get a little older is the need for a rail of some sort for support in the shower. The shower nozzle was fantastic withthe best pressure I have ever seen. Other points for noting:
1. The pillow choice was excellent, and the bed was very comfortable.
2. Unfortunately the A/C pointed directly at the bed, so not able to use during the night.
3. The gym was very small with limited equipment.
4. Breakfast in the restaurant was satisfactory.
5. A couple next to me had a huge "domestic" at 12.15am, with nothing spared in the language stakes.
6. A late check-out of 2pm was granted without any problems - thankyou.
7. Not much space to put your clothes, so I just worked out of my suitcase.
8. Plumbing noises from adjacent and above rooms was very obvious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwaypoint Tasmanina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the 17/feb/12.Very basic hotel.room very small and cramped with a table in the middle of the room.Bathroom needed a good clean, tiles were very dirty and a big stain in the toilet bowl,not a good look .Not worth the money,will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night, when attending a show at Rod Laver Arena.
The hotel is centrally located and near to tram stops and train station. The hotel offers valet parking for $32, which is money well spent. Beware of the car park in Flinders Lane as the weekend special at $15 will have you getting your car out before 6am to avoid a second day!!
The rooms are somewhat tired with poor views, but the hotel is not expensive for a city centre location. The room was clean and bed was comfortable with a range of pillows to try.We had a meal in the ground floor restaurant, which was well prepared and presented. The staff were excellent, with a great attitude. Breakfast was buffet style and good, but not brilliant! Great value,and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Although rooms at the back of the hotel look out onto the backs of other buildings, they are very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the end of a busy four week tour of Australia. The reception staff were very helpful with directions and the buffet breakfast, eaten whilst watching people coming and going on the street outside, was excellent. The hotel is very well placed for the excellent tram network. We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool and, despite being close to the elevator, it was very quiet. Earlier in our tour we had stayed at another Holiday Inn and joined their Priority Scheme. We were therefore able to take advantage of a late check out. This was useful because on the day of our departure we had a direct flight back to the UK and were able to rest beforehand. This was our first visit to Melbourne and the hotel really added to our enjoyment of the city. We hope to visit the city again in a couple of years and we shall choose Holiday Inn on Flinders next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have stayed a few times at this hotel and I have been pleasantly surprised by it. The staff are very friendly - better than those in some more expensive hotels. Reception is efficient even when busy. The rooms were refurbished a while ago and are a good size with comfortable beds however on my last stay my room had some very obvious scuff marks on the wall. The bathrooms were not refurbished but are clean and well appointed. The mini bar area is well designed and well stocked (and not outrageously priced). I have had mixed experiences with the room service meals - some (like the burger) have been great while others (curry) tasted like a microwave curry from the supermarket. Food is pretty well priced with cheaper "take away" options. The buffet breakfast has a reasonable selection of food and the espresso is good and strong.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.