We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with warm atmosphere and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crimean

The Crimean
351 Queensberry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
+61 3 9329 3353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hotel with warm atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

North Melbourne has a number of atmospheric pubs with great food and this is one of the best. The Crimean/Ukrainian cuisine offers the best Eastern European food I've tasted in a long while. The bar and restaurant have been atmospherically decorated featuring what I imagine to be antiques and paintings from the region. The food is well prepared and presented and the staff are very able to assist you with recommendations. The menu features a number of smaller plates many of which you should sample and so are best shared. Interesting range of beers on tap, a good wine list and great cocktails - so arrive on foot or by taxi if you can!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

From the outside it looks battered. Inside it is a beautifully warm and welcoming old bar and restaurant that has been quirkily decorated. Small but interesting range of beers on tap, as well as a lovely wine menu. Now the food. It's fabulous. I had never given a thought to Crimean/Ukrainian cuisine. Compliments to the chef as the menu is beautifully prepared and presented. The staff are very able to assist you with recommendations for the perfect wine to accompany your meal. The food from the menu is best shared. Thus the lower priced and smaller plate sizes. Order from a range of dumplings (not the asian kind), lamb meatballs with a sweet fruit possibly a prune? ...it's divine ! gorgeous range of salad or vegetable dishes. Their house smoked salmon is a must. But you need to share it, so that you have room to try the other smaller sharing dishes. My vegetarian friend said that the vegetarian main dish that she enjoyed was just delicious. The staff are welcoming, friendly and relaxed but sharp and know their beers, wines and the food menu. The gentleman who may be the owner (not sure) is also a friendly, interesting character but does not intrude on your dining time with your friends. I really rate this place highly and I can be a harsh critic.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was visiting friends in Melbourne and looking for a nice casual lunch. They have just started doing lunches here a few weeks ago and I am so pleased they do!

I cannot recommend this restaurant/hotel more highly. The shared plates were amazing! Wine list really varied with a great mix of both old and new world. Some great eclectic music in the background and the Service was wonderful also. What more can I say but "we'll done!"

Will definitely be back! Thankyou!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Second return to Crimean in past 12 months and the meal and service was top standard.The menu is meant to share it it worked well with exceptional guidance from the service staff. All very tasty well prepared and presented. Atmosphere a bit quirky but works for us. Exceptional sour whiskey pre-dinner drink which had to be repeated. Is on the return list with a large tick. Well done.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“An Eastern European Experience you'll want to repeat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Front of house, as in the outside walls, are covered in posters from Bulgaria and where the heck else delaying your entrance. You really want to stop and try to read them. The next front of house was jovial, quick witted and ever-helful. Born to the job. The rest of the staff were also attentive and happy Larrys all night. The three of us shared a few plates of some of the best pelmeni or vareniki, depending on your origins, that I've ever eaten in my life. No shortage of sour cream and dill, as required. I've probably eaten slightly better piroshki, but they would have either my own or my mother's. I prefer a more bready dough. One of us had a main and declared it fabulous. I had the quince pudding which also was delish and all the desserts were of ample proportions, as were we, by the time we finished with the drinks trolley and found our tram.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crimean also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Crimean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crimean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.