We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greek Spot

The Greek Spot
559 Burwood Road, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,059 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Heathmont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Went here for a family birthday party. The hostess was very welcoming but quiet. The dips and saganaki were highlights. We brought a cake and the were happy to bring it out with no extra charge. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Victoria
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just don't go.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

There is almost nothing I could say about this place but "DO NOT GO".

Years ago it was terrific. We ventured in (to it's new location which isn't that new, I know) and within minutes wished we hadn't. We had grilled meats and calamari with salad: the whole thing was poorly cooked, bland and horrid. The chips were white!

The service was atrocious and almost resentful.

I have no idea what has gone on here, but I for one will not be going back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprise of a small local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It is located on a quiet road in the evening but it's really noisy when you get inside. The smell, warm light at a small place attract passers. The food is good ( I like the chips not gyros, and three dips with hot bread is delicious). It can be crowded and you may wait for 15-20 minutes to get your dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic local!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Delicious food - simple and wholesome! Unpretentious; busy even on a Wed night tho friendly service and great atmosphere. Birthday dinner with 6 of us and all very happy at reasonable per/head price with plenty of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“The best baklava I've had in years ! Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited the Greek Spot on Saturday night - totally packed !

Our meal started with the trio of dips - all delicious (tarama, tzaziki and eggplant) plus a saganaki - also delicious and a very generous serve. For our main meal we shared an entree size grilled octopus, lamb gyros and a medium salad. The octopus just melted in your mouth. The lamb gyros was delicious (and served with some fries) and the medium salad was large - and also had lettuce in it.

The prices were really reasonable and so at the end of the night I ordered the baklava ($5) for a large triangle - the highest piece I've seen (looked more like a piece of cake) AND OMG - it was absolutely amazing. It oozed with delicious honey liquid that wasn't too sweet and the balance in pastry, liquid, nuts was perfect !!! WOW !!!

The young guy serving us was brilliant. The young lady was great in clearing but could have asked us if we wanted dessert, etc.

And The Greek Spot is also BYO - which is brilliant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Spot also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Greek Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greek Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.