We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lupino Bistro and Bar

Lupino Bistro and Bar
41 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9639 0333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 2,875 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Lunch here on a Friday is full of regular guests. The atmosphere is vibrant, the service excellent and 'front of house' welcoming you as a long lost friend. It's busy and bustling. The food is simple and really well prepared. The wine list is good and supports the menu really well

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A couple of years ago when visiting Melbourne my husband and I discovered Lupino, tucked away near one of the main areas for restaurants, but not quite in it. Indeed, one could walk past and not notice Lupino, except for the lovely aromas seeping out. Now we go there whenever we're in Melbourne, usually more than once and have taken friends there on several occasions. We've never been disappointed.

The food selections, variety and quality are outstanding - a relatively small menu, but it changes with the seasons and there is always something for everyone. I had a fantastic veal dish on Friday night and, tonight (Sunday) I plan to go back and have it again before I leave town. When I took my vegetarian friend there, she had several choices available. When I feel like a pizza, Lupin is also the place to go - but not if you're looking for an 'Aussie' or a 'Hawaiian'. Lupino's pizzas are luscious and different. Try, for example, their gorgonzola and leak pizza. (One word of warning on the pizzas: they're big. Share one between two or plan on a doggie bag.) There is a good wine list with a number of interesting and not run-of-the-mill selections, with a reasonable range of wines available by the glass. The wine pricing is fair.

Service is excellent. Staff are well trained and we've not noticed much staff turnover, so I can only imagine that's its a good place to work too, which is a mark in its favour.

After all these rave remarks, the thing that I really, really like about Lupino is that they take relatively late bookings - up to about 9:45 and possibly later. When I've flown into Melbourne early too mid-evening, it's great to find a really good restaurant that doesn't turn me away because they want to close their kitchen.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Great Discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were staying at the Windsor which is just around the corner and someone recommended it to us. We walked passed it at first because I dont believe there is any signage but dont let this put you off.
We arrived with no booking and every table was full at 6.30. We were seated at the bar to order a drink and before it arrived tehy had a table ready for us.
The food was delicious and a great choice on the menu. Couldnt fault it and so glad we found it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to this restaurant twice during our stay In Melbourne. We saw it was recommended by Trip Advisor and were not at all disappointed. We were impressed by the variety of dishes that we have not normally found outside Italy. Each of the dishes was well presented and tasty. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The dining experience was excellent and although not cheap was good value for money. For 3 courses plus olives to start, with a good bottle of Chianti and tip, it was 90 Australian dollars per head - but well worth it. If we were in Melbourne for longer we would certainly go again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Lupino is an outstanding restaurant, which in a city that has so many outstanding restaurants, is saying something. The food is as authentic as you could possibly get - it was just like eating at my Italian mother-in-law's table. We couldn't go past the Vitello tonnato, and the carpaccio. The polpetta are exquisite and the veal pappardelle is bursting with honest flavour. The place is understandably busy, but the service didn't faulter at all. Chatting to the Chef at the end of the night was also great. Do yourself a favour - put Lupino on your eating wish list!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupino Bistro and Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Lupino Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupino Bistro and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.