We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aylesbury

The Aylesbury
103 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne, Victoria VIC 3000, Australia
(03) 9077 0451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #853 of 4,231 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rooftop views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great service, ambience and prices. Good tapas, loved the croquettes. Chicken salad was average but my friends loved their calamari bocadillos.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Upstairs. Food's Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Look, the venue is lovely, and the food is quite nice. But nothing incredibly special. Great for a cheeky rooftop wine in the sunshine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service, the rooftop is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went to The Aylesbury as a group of 6 and had a pre drink at their rooftop bar and just enjoyed the great view and the atmosphere. We did the tasting menu for dinner which was sensational. We didn't have to make all the hard decisions about what to order and plate after plate of excellent food came out. There was huge amounts of food! The John Dory was beautiful and the desserts are absolutely worth saving room for. The waitstaff were just excellent and so accommodating. Had such a good night here overall.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A holiday for your taste buds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The flavours in the dishes are so amazing that we found ourselves pausing after each mouthful! Will most certainly go back for the full taster menu with matched wines!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tastebud enticing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am so glad that we stumbled across The Aylesbury. We had not checked the reviews etc, and we booked purely on seeing the menu outside. We managed to book a table for two on the same day, and we were told if we were early we could go and enjoy some drinks on the roof top bar.

We arrived 45 minutes before our table was booked, and we decided to take them up on the offer of drinks on the roof top. We had some lovely drinks on the bar. It wasn't huge, however there was plenty of space for everyone enjoying the sunshine.

We then moved downstairs for our meal, where we both went for 3 courses. We loved each course! They were so tasty. The staff were excellent without being to much in our faces as I find some melbourne waiting staff are!!

The portions are not huge, however we left feeling full, as the food was rich.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and our time at The Aylesbury!

p.s go for the popcorn dessert!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aylesbury also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aylesbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.