We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere different - OK but won't rush back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponyfish Island Cafe

Ponyfish Island Cafe
Southgate Pedestrian Bridge, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Southbank)
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Somewhere different - OK but won't rush back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had hoped to take a luncheon cruise on the Yarra - but they don't operate during winter months. Looking around for an alternative we spotted Ponyfish in the middle of the river and thought we'd give it a try. Mexican type food - promptly served - almost like an eat it here takeaway meal. We decided we preferred the cafes on the Southbank overlooking the river. Ponyfish was reasonably priced and the food adequate - didn't try their coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    44
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cool cafe almost in the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Spent a nice couple of hours in the sun at this unique cafe right in the middle of the Yarra, between Southbank and the CBD. Good selection of drinks and light meals, cheese board was very good.
Worth a visit, very popular place...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A quaint place for a drink on the Yarra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been to Pony Island before in Winter. A rather quaint place for a drink as it's right on the Yarra River. Try the mulled wine on a cool evening, it will warm the cockles of your heart.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“good for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We didn't eat here but had a drink perched on stools watching the boats going up the Yarra. It is always good to finally decided some place that is a little unusual

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique, quirky bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For something a little different, I'd definitely recommend a visit here. Great location, especially in the summer. Well priced food and drinks, and a delicious halloumi burger!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponyfish Island Cafe also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ponyfish Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponyfish Island Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.