We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a casual breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Seeds

Seven Seeds
114 Berkley Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
9347 8664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 4,225 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Seacliff, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a casual breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We found this restuarant in a magazine. It has a lovely atmosphere, very funky with loads of things to look at. The whole idea of this place is amazing. We actually walked right past it as it is located in avery unlikely location. The food was very tasty and and the coffee very good. The service was fantastic and the popularity of the place evident as people lived up to get in. I will definitely go again when next in Melbourne

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love seven seeds and their coffee is great. The staff are friendly. The food is good. This place is a stop for all students of Melbourne university. However, they have a small branch in the city as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A university student and Melbourne hipster hangout with great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't be mistaken, this is not just a place for the Melbourne University law students and hipsters to get coffee. Seven Seeds has the most amazing selection of food, all within a industrial/warehouse/informal/hip environment. The coffee here is amazing, and it is a perfect place to have brunch or lunch and just chill out with a book for a while.

From experience this is one of the best places to get a latte in Melbourne, and they have featured in a number of food festivals within Melbourne.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For coffee addict”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Seven Seeds is one of best quality coffee in Melbourne.Nice coffee and some hot staff, love the idea of the warehouse-like design.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Coffee Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had breakfast at Seven Seeds today, a Sunday. We arrived at about 9am and it was about two thirds full. The absolutely delightful waitress greated with such a big smile and enthusiastic hello we felt like we were old friends returning, not visiting for the first time. We were immediately seated and were quickly served our first of three coffees we enjoyed.

I was told this was coffee snobbery at Seven Seeds, if so then call me snob as the coffee was wonderful. If I was being really picky I would say it could be just a few degrees hotter but I would much rather it slightly cooler than over hot as just a few degrees too far destroys the flavour.

I had a cold pressed coffee for the first time ever, over ice and loved that too.

We had breakfast as well. The french toast with chorizo was nice with the toast being airy and light. We had the Spiced mince dish with a fried egg on top that just blew my socks off. It was just fantastic...I want the recipe.

Great service, great coffee, great breakfast and a great vibe. I want....no need a Seven Seeds in Perth...hmmmm franchise? If I did I would steal that waitress too (if you are reading this boss man she was the deeply tanned girl, just a delight although all were good)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seeds also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Seven Seeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Seeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.