We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food, fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byblos Bar & Restaurant

Byblos Bar & Restaurant
G12 World Trade Centre | 18-38 Siddeley St, Melbourne, Victoria 3005, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03)9614 6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 4,075 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“fantastic food, fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a work dinner here during the week. The tapas kept coming- it was yummy!
We tried a bit of everything. The location is perfect, overlooking the Yarra river- so pretty.
The service was friendly and helpful, we appreciated the advice from the waiter concerning what to order.
The dips and flat bread was delightful and chicken on skewers was absolutely amazing, so good! Excellent wine and coffee too.
I can’t wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Visited this restaurant for work catch up dinner during a weekday night. Food was very good and service was friendly and good.

Restaurant is in a nice location with a view of South Yarra river and crowns casino. Restaurant have a nice ambience.

Highly recommended to try this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever. FUL STOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our last night of 3 in Melbourne - The City of food. We love coming to Melbourne as the choice of food and drink is amazing, the city is easy to get around. We had walked so much this day we looked for somewhere close to where we were and something we haven't had in a while. We saw Byblos across the water whilst at the Exhibition centre, and decided we would try it. From to moment we arrived to the moment we left we were constantly impressed. The Matradie was nothing less than spectacular, we were promptly greeted and seated, when ordering we were offered great solutions that helped us in ordering, the meal would have to be the absolute best meal we have ever eaten anywhere, the portions were spot on, the selection on the menu was amazing, the pricing was not too heavy and the atmosphere was perfect to end our Melbourne experience. I look forward to returning on our next trip. This food would suit all tastes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent views while you dine on fine Lebanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great place to relax and soak in the views while you dine on fine Lebanese food. Excellent setting, food and service was good. We tried a variety of food and I had the fish which was fresh to perfection. It was a bit on the pricey side but understandable given the location and settings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Average or Very Good?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was hesitating between an Average rating and a Very Good rating but that's because so many of the drinks that we ordered had run out. We (4 of us) were there early - at 6pm on a Friday night - and there were happy hour special cocktails which was great. We ordered a couple and then decided to re-order the same - however one of them was not available as they had run out of the right liqueur. So we decided to order a bottle of Veuve Cliquot. Unfortunately they didn't have any and suggested Pol Roger or Moet & Chandon. It surprised me that a barman wouldn't appreciate that if you are a Veuve drinker than neither of these champagnes are an acceptable substitute. So instead we ordered a red wine. It was delicious so we ordered another. Unfortunately they had run out....... and this was at 7pm on a Friday night.

So, putting the drinks debacle aside, the service and the food were very good. Our waitress was very helpful and all of the food we had was very well presented, fresh and tasty. The only dish that didn't really blow any of us away was the dumplings - rather chewy and bland. The rest was very good though and I would recommend giving it a try.

It's a shame about the drinks but unfortunately it does mar your overall dining experience and I won't be racing back. There was no apology or explanation from the manager about the lack of available wines - our overall experience would have been different if they had perhaps done something to appease the disappointment. Perhaps offer the cocktails on the house or something small to wipe out the negative memory. Just a thought......

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byblos Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Byblos Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byblos Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.