We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubiras at Swallows

Rubiras at Swallows
192 Station Street, Port Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria Vic 3207, Australia (Port Melbourne)
9646 2746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #450 of 3,059 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Port Melbourne
1 review
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to Rubiras on Sunday 10/11 for my birthday with family and friends and I have to say it was just fantastic. The food was delicious and Rachel was so great and it all made my special day the best. We had a sampler entree as suggested by Rach and it was devine. Thanks guys keep up the great work.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went there with friends and was disappointed that our meals got messed up and we were told that we needed to leave if we weren't going to eat the food that we didn't order. Just poor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason_dermo_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the place to go if you are a seafood fan. All dishes are expertly prepared. Freshest seafood chosen by John Rubira, and presented with unique flavours. The extensive wine list matches perfectly with the food. An enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not what it looks like from the outside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

When we parked at the front of this restaurant I almost had to drag my husband out of the car - it looked a bit 'dodgy' and definitely not what we expected! Once inside he had a totally different attitude. The restaurant and bar have been beautifully renovated and is a very warm and inviting place to be. The service and food were even better - one of the nicest seafood platters we have ever had and the service was impecable. Definitely not overbearing, but just right. We were also using a voucher but the platter was so good we decided to indulge and also ordered dessert (which came with a wonderful glass of 'house' labelled dessert wine). We'd go back just to have more of the wine!! Had a good look over the menu board which, as mentioned by others, definitely isn't cheap but you get what you pay for and this is one restaurant where it would be worth every penny. Thank you for a really lovely lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank semci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“"Seafood Platter Please"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Rubiras @ Swallows as we went there for lunch on a Cudo Seafood Platter deal. Everything was excellent - the service, the environment but especially the food. Looking at the specials board and menu, they obviously have a wide choice but be warned it is not the cheapest place to eat in Melbourne. We walked out (or should I say rolled out) completely satisfied - couldn't have eaten another mouthful. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubiras at Swallows also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rubiras at Swallows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing