We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubiras at Swallows

Rubiras at Swallows
192 Station Street, Port Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria Vic 3207, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
9646 2746
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #82 of 3,886 restaurants in Melbourne
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
1 review
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to Rubiras on Sunday 10/11 for my birthday with family and friends and I have to say it was just fantastic. The food was delicious and Rachel was so great and it all made my special day the best. We had a sampler entree as suggested by Rach and it was devine. Thanks guys keep up the great work.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    24
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Went there with friends and was disappointed that our meals got messed up and we were told that we needed to leave if we weren't going to eat the food that we didn't order. Just poor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the place to go if you are a seafood fan. All dishes are expertly prepared. Freshest seafood chosen by John Rubira, and presented with unique flavours. The extensive wine list matches perfectly with the food. An enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not what it looks like from the outside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

When we parked at the front of this restaurant I almost had to drag my husband out of the car - it looked a bit 'dodgy' and definitely not what we expected! Once inside he had a totally different attitude. The restaurant and bar have been beautifully renovated and is a very warm and inviting place to be. The service and food were even better - one of the nicest seafood platters we have ever had and the service was impecable. Definitely not overbearing, but just right. We were also using a voucher but the platter was so good we decided to indulge and also ordered dessert (which came with a wonderful glass of 'house' labelled dessert wine). We'd go back just to have more of the wine!! Had a good look over the menu board which, as mentioned by others, definitely isn't cheap but you get what you pay for and this is one restaurant where it would be worth every penny. Thank you for a really lovely lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"Seafood Platter Please"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Rubiras @ Swallows as we went there for lunch on a Cudo Seafood Platter deal. Everything was excellent - the service, the environment but especially the food. Looking at the specials board and menu, they obviously have a wide choice but be warned it is not the cheapest place to eat in Melbourne. We walked out (or should I say rolled out) completely satisfied - couldn't have eaten another mouthful. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubiras at Swallows also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rubiras at Swallows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubiras at Swallows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.