We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubiras at Swallows

Rubiras at Swallows
192 Station Street, Port Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria Vic 3207, Australia (Port Melbourne)
9646 2746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 4,170 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Port Melbourne
Detroit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I went to Rubieras upon the recommendation of a concierge at our hotel. We had specified we wanted to eat Italian food that evening, our first in Melbourne. Our cabbie had difficulty finding it, as it is not a tourist hangout and is not on top of downtown Melbourne. We loved it! It was warm, inviting, and unpretentious. The service and the food spoke volumes about how fine this restaurant is! The seafood was superb - our waiter recommended Moreton Bay Bugs, which was something I hadn't encountered previously - (being an American - what do we know?) The lamb was seasoned beautifully,as tender as it could possibly have been . The waiter also recommended a good wine. He was never wrong! By the way, I ordered the Moreton Bay Bugs at another restaurant several days later and it didn't compare to the dish at Rubieras!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“top quality, one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been to Rubiras a number of times, both business and personal. John is a great passionate guy, cares about the food that is presented in his establishment and never fails to deliver.
I have invited business colleagues to impress, friends to have a good nosh and on my own when on various trips - I have never been let down.
It does not matter how you like you fish, it will be done the way you like - I had a steak last time - it was one of the best I have had - beating a tophotel I went to the next day who promoted thier steak offering as one of the best in Melbourne.
Book if you do not want to be disappointed (even in the week)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Concierge best recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Travellers brief: Nice food, love seafood, suitable for children, value pricing and near CBD.

Concierge: Rubiras. Thats where the local goes too.

Conclusion: Amazing seafood. Amazing spices and varied cooking styles. Tapas or main courses option. Excellent service and makes one crave for more.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were told this was the best seafood restaurant in Melbourne and I have to believe that. Two meals there on a recent trip and wish we had more. FRESH seafood which was delicious--prawns, calamari, muscles, fish, etc. in a small bistro atmosphere with a bar set up in their front room. Ask for a table in their back room and you will love the food, service, and easy feel of this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
“Melbourne's Best Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As a local Melbourne businessman I am always looking for a nice place to bring my clients for not only a impressive meal, but also a location where we can have meetings or discuss business. Rubira's at Swallows is excellent at fulfilling both these aspects to a high standard.

Our table was placed up stairs in a private function room, where the service was excellent and so were our meals. The upstairs room was quiet and private and was the perfect set up for myself and my clients. Will certainly be back again whether it be with more clients or just the family!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubiras at Swallows also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rubiras at Swallows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubiras at Swallows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.