We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem - great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana

Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana
10 12 Manchester Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
0390907634
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #593 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Little gem - great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a delightful little Italian restaurant - we went for a quick meal before a show and were delighted with it - we just had pasta (amatriciana and arriabiata) and both were absolutely delicious and good size servings. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The house red wine was excellent value and very pleasant and a good size glass too! We were extremely happy with our meal and will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The food in this Italian Restaurant is delicious! We started off with Bruschetta and a trio of dips, followed by pasta with mushrooms with truffle oil and involtini Siciliani. Just mouth watering food. A great night!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Glad we stumbled across this one! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

On our way to china town we took a short cut down one of Melbournes famous alleys... Stopped to read the menu of Maccaroni, sounded great! After the wonder through china town we couldn't get the amazing menu options from Maccaroni out of heads, so back we went... And we did not regret it! Food was great, and true to menu description... Staff were efficient and non intrusive. A lot of Italians dining which can only be a good sign... Thanks for a great night :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant trattoria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We happened to pass Maccaroni and the menu enticed us in. We were seated quickly by the friendly staff even though we didn't have a reservation. Service was quick and we were happy with our selection which was served quickly and was hot on a cool Melbourne night. Very reasonably priced at $49.50 for two mains, a very generous glass of chardonnay and a bottle of beer.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this tiny restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We were walking through the hidden arcades of Melbourne on a rainy Sunday when we spotted this little restaurant. I'll be honest, the main reason we stopped was that it had indoor seating . We were pleasantly surprised at the delicious real Italian meal and the all Italian wait staff. The waitress was attentive and the food hot and tasty, especially welcome on a damp, nasty day. To make it even more appealing, the prices were fair ( for Melbourne).
If you're strolling in Melbourne, don't pass by this little gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maccaroni Trattoria Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.