We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian on the street!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cavallino

Cafe Cavallino
181-183 Lygon Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
(03) 9347 5520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,053 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Italian on the street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Dropped in here for dinner just randomly while out with friends and was happily surprised! The staff was friendly even though somewhat overworked. The food was excellent! Had the seafood gnocchi and it tasted awesome! We ate outside so the atmosphere was really bustling because this place draws a big crowd. You should definitely check this place out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best Italian on Lygon Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I dined at Cavallino with a party of 5. The food, ambience and service was top class. We sat outside (the slightly longer wait was worthwhile) and experienced an authentic Italian meal - on par with the best that I've had in Rome. the waiter was most helpful with the selection of the pasta and wine to match the dishes that we were ordering. We will def be back here on our next visit to Melb.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Love Cafe Cavallino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have been to this Restaurant/Cafe twice within a few years and both times I have had a lovely meal. Its quite a big p;lace, has extensive inside dining and outside, also up the street a little on the left they have another outdoor seating area, The service is good and food is nice with prices to match. Well worth a visit even if its ton just sit inside, have a few drinks and check out all the Ferrari's that line the walls.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We walked up and down Lygon Street and checked out lots of places, some were offering incentives to eat there. Lots of people eating both inside and outside on the footpath. Service was great and the food was lovely and so much of it. Nobody rushed us and the meal was served in a reasonable time frame. Enjoyed the experience and the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Graet Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely meal at this popular Italian restaurant in Lygon St, an area very well served by Italian restaurants. We both had great homemade pasta parcels with traditional sauces. The ambience was lovely sitting out in the street under the patio heaters.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cavallino also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cafe Cavallino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cavallino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.