We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria Market

Queen Victoria Market
513 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
(03) 9320 5822
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #36 of 3,886 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great day out... lots to see and do and especially to eat.. yumo. Lot of unusual things to purchase. Craft and clothings was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    124
    80
    31
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must see in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I go here at least once a week. The deli hall is fantastic. Get a Borek for lunch and enjoy the sites of the rest of the market. Don't forget closed Monday and Wednesdays

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a good walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

a good place to have a bite to eat, with plenty of good options very within the market area. Heaps of stalls selling anything and everything, a good walk around while you do a little shopping

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There's lots of cheese there, enough said!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I must admit I'm biased because I'm a complete sucker for cheese and I entered directly into the dairy section of the Queen Victoria Market. Truly a cheese lovers heaven, I found my belly somehow full of cheese without actually purchasing any. I'm definitely guilty of lingering around the tasting tables, and repeated the experience by tasting organic wines (seek out some chilli port from the Flowerdale Winery, it sent electric shivers across my tongue and I *SHOCK* actually bought some). The markets are definitely worth a stroll around, although some sections are repetitive and sell lots of junk. Also just remember that these markets close on Mondays and Wednesdays!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The fresh food markets are just to die for. The other markets weren't as good as years ago with not as much variety, depends on which day you go, during the week or on a weekend. Colourful characters abound.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Victoria Market also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Queen Victoria Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Victoria Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.