We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food hall is really special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria Market

Queen Victoria Market
513 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
(03) 9320 5822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The food hall is really special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We live in Canberra, and while we have a couple of really good food markets, QVM makes ours look prehistoric. The variety of food, cost of produce and the obvious quality you can see in the food is astonishing. I have been numerous times while working in Melbourne many years ago but had forgotten how good QVM was. I kept on looking at the variety of food wishing I had a kitchen to cook - sadly not the case.

The other area of QVM has garments, nick-nacks, souvenirs, etc. Personally, I would not bother, there are many, many stalls selling similar items, if you walk up one aisle, and down another, you can pretty much have seen most of what is to offer – but that is from a bloke who is not a shopping fan. If you love shopping for ‘cheap’ stuff, QVM is the place to go.
A quick walk back to the food section will reset you. Make sure you go either early so you don’t miss out on what you want, or late to catch the end of day bargins.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    107
    35
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fresh produce, usually competively priced. During the summer months there are some great food stalls and live music on a Wednesday night

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Huge, with good quality goods and food. If you're in Melbourne from November to February make sure you have dinner at the night market. It's on a Wednesday night; it's packed; it's great fun.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“massive market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

affordable, useful items, delicious food and so on, you should go out for the market when you are there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Historic but Alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My grandmother shopped here every Thursday from 1923 until ill health stopped her in 1970. I have continued the tradition and shop here every week - in the dairy hall for cheeses, smallgoods, pasta, nuts, chocolate, etc. and out into the sheds for flowers, fruit and vegetables. I love that the stall-holders know my name , and are happy to let me taste their wares before I buy. This place is alive and leaves soul-less packaged supermarket shopping for dead!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Victoria Market also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Queen Victoria Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Victoria Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.