We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1806

1806
169 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Chinatown)
+61 3 9663 7722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 3,059 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Cocktail bar.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After diving into 1806 to escape the winter chill of Melbourne, we were welcomed by a helpful compare and showed to our balcony seats overlooking the bar where all of the action takes place. The menu choices for cocktails is extensive, and actually a very good read! The staff were attentive and helpful throughout the evening. The bar staff enjoyed their jobs, this much is clear from the way they interact, move around the bar and put on a bit of a show. Ensure you are well dressed as 1806 has a strict dress policy.

If you enjoy cocktails and the art of their creation, certainly give this place a try! I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceej18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow!! Sherlock...Fancy a cocktail?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Well what can I say!! 1806 is an exclusive restaurant that makes arguably some of the best cocktails ever! The menu itself takes you through a historic journey of cocktails by the decade!! And they serve it all!! Comfortable seating, a bar counter worth staring at and an excellent staff make for any visit there quite an experience!! Book in advance if you are planning to visit over the weekends. Its exclusively table service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great Service with a Smile - gotta love the possibilities for a flaming cocktail at 0200, knowledgeable friendly staff, who re not condescending like I am used to

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dileep_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very funky little place - great idea to base the menu on evolution of the cocktail. Very attentive and knowledgeable staff. Would happily go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drich1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cocktail degustation = fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Group of girls booked a five course cocktail degustation on a recent Saturday night in Melbourne. Highly recommend!!
Our experience was fantastic and as we sipped more amazing Heston Blumenthal style concoctions and life became more "fuzzy" we mused how fantastic a hens night this experience would make ( topless waiters needed!) .
Our cocktail "artist" was informative and unobtrusive but full of info. We ended up trying a good three cocktails we would never ever ever have usually ordered and the food pairings were good. Some of the food was great but some was a little simple. Make sure like us you have dinner first. The jelly with the first course was " like sour worms on steroids" and amazing as were the pineapple chips- yum!!
A very good time had by all :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SHAELEEJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1806 also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to 1806? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing